Day 16 of Pinterest ~ Places that I love

Holy Toledo!

We’ve surprassed the halfway mark of this Pinterest Challenge  and reached Day 16 of

Today, I’m sharing a few places that are near and dear to my heart. You’ll need your Passport for one of them!

Cape Hatteras, North Carolina (The Outer Banks)

Ohhhh, this beach scene is so awesome. The Outer Banks of North Carolina are some of my favorite beaches on the East Coast. I first visited The Outer Banks as a young girl when my family would spend a week at a cousin’s beach house in Duck, about 30 minutes north of Kitty Hawk. There’s nothing better than a house of 16 really loud (and really fun) loved ones. And 3 bathrooms. And lots of sand. Ohhh I miss those days!

Fun Fact: the Wright brothers (Orville and Wilbur) invented the first airplane controls for fixed-wing planes; their first successful flight near Kitty Hawk occured on December 17, 1903. December 17 is also my birthday.

Georgia Aquarium ~ Atlanta, Georgia

As most of you know, I love The South. Of all the wonderful cities in the South, among my favorite is Atlanta, Georgia. I’ve been to Atlanta many times for many different reasons. I visited Turner Field and met Chipper Jones, even asked him to be my date for Junior Prom. That didn’t turn out like I had dreamed. But, I still love Atlanta. I last visited in 2009 and visited the Georgia Aquarium, the world’s largest. It’s an amazing, jaw-dropping facility in the heart of downtown. More than 10 million gallons of water are inside this beautiful and modern museum. One of the most amazing exhibits, I think, includes an opportunity ~ the ONLY place in the world ~ where divers can swim with the largest fish in the world: whale sharks. Yeah, this is definitely going on my Bucket List of Life.

Port-au-Prince, Haiti

It’s no surprise that Port-au-Prince, Haiti would be included in the list of my cities that I love. You can read about my first mission trip and experience in Haiti by clicking here. Since I’ve told my mother, I can share with the rest of you: I’m returning for another mission trip in 2012. I’ll be a co-leader on a team in October. I’m beyond excited and can’t wait to see my Haitian brothers and sisters!

What are some places that YOU love?

Comments

  1. I love…my new townhouse. I could just hang out here all the time in my Hawaiian-themed room. It’s SO NICE to actually live somewhere I like again!

    P.S. Next time you are in the OBX…you’re only like an hour away, so I’ll come meet you there for lunch! =)

  2. Great pics Nicole! I love the Maldive Islands and Barbados and The Gambia

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

