Our Last Great Hope (a book review)

 

Our Last Great Hope by Ronnie Floyd is not a book that I would normally choose for pleasure or devotional reading. It is, however, a good reminder of how the modern Church can implement forgotten techniques to awaken the Great Commission within its local congregation for the transformation of the world.

There are distinct differences between Floyd’s denominational views of the Great Commission and my own; nonetheless, I read this book with a keen awareness of my own viewpoints while accepting the reality that Floyd has a unique perspective and experience to share as well.

While I disagree with many of Floyd’s statements and viewpoints, he reminds readers that Jesus Christ is our hope for this broken world. Floyd uses Scripture and specific references to lead readers in a “pep talk” of sorts to get them excited about becoming the movers and shakers within their own church. Besides, the Great Commission requires action!

Church, as Floyd explains in Our Last Great Hope, can easily become a habit. Humans are easy targets for spiritual complacency too. To restore our joy, the best remedy is ACTION. After all, there is energy behind the Great Commission and it is to “go” and transform the world!

Read this book with caution. Ground yourself in the big “T” truths and take the rest of Floyd’s statements (i.e. Halloween is “the devil’s day”) with a grain of salt.

 

I review for BookSneeze®

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

