A Weekend of Giving

Your comment = 1 canned good

This post is a prime example of actions being more important than words. Please ACT!!!!!

To celebrate World Food Day (Sunday, October 16) I am inviting YOU to get involved in a local food pantry without leaving the comfort of your own home.

For every comment added to this post from now until Sunday, October 16 at midnight, I will donate one (1) canned food item to the Helping Hands Food Pantry.

The Helping Hands Food Pantry is a local outreach ministry program at the First United Methodist Church in Joshua. It assists families, single-parent households, and senior citizens throughout the local community by providing canned and non-perishable food items, as well as toiletries and personal hygiene products. On average, more than 100 bags are distributed on a monthly basis.

The need is great and your assistance is appreciated. If you would like to become involved, please consider the following options:

  • visit UMCOR‘s website and donate to a specific mission (FYI: 100% of all donations given to UMCOR go to that ministry ……. none of those pesky administrative costs like some non-profit organizations!)
  • donate canned food or non-perishable food items to a food pantry in your own community
  • send me an email (nicole.m.hutchison at gmail dot com) if you would like to make a direct contribution to the Helping Hands Food Pantry at FUMC Joshua ~ there is also an opportunity to provide Thanksgiving Dinners to families in the Fort Worth, TX area through the United Community Centers. For $25, you can provide a traditional Thanksgiving dinner to a family in need.

There are LOTS of way to get involved and I encourage you to find a way that works for you. The holidays are soon approaching and the need continues to grow. Please don’t wait for the holidays or someone to ask for your help ….. ACT now!!!!!!!

❤ Nicole ❤

Other websites you can visit about World Food Day include:

UMCOR (United Methodist Committee on Relief) ~ World Food Day

World Food Day USA

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Oxfam: Dedicate your Sunday dinner to Farmers

Comments

  1. Helping Hands. Helping Hearts

  2. Love how generous you are Nicole! Please give a can of veggie soup–it’s a whole meal. 🙂

  3. #1 – this is very cool.
    #2 – sorry to have dropped off the face of the earth. i’m going to get caught up on your blog this week.
    and #3 – i would really appreciate it if the canned item that results from this comment could be Chef Boyardee beef ravioli…. =)

    • SHE’S ALIVE!!!!!!!!
      #1 – thank you. (blush)
      #2 – I’m glad you’re back. I’ve missed you greatly, thought of you often, and visited your blog at least once daily just to see your smiling face (stalker? possibly.)
      and #3 – I’m laughing so hard and I promise a can of CB beef ravioli will be included JUST.4.U.

      Love,
      Me

  4. Jennifer Higgins says:

    As I comment, my kids are cleaning out our pantry to make a donation to Helping Hands. We also took 5 bags for the Thanksgiving dinners for United Community Centers

    • Awesome!!!!!!
      The 4J+K Crew is amazing and so generous. Thank you! Thank you!!!

      (do you like my name for y’all?! Get it, the four J’s plus K ….. ok, it’s corny, I’ll shut up now!!!!)

  5. It’s A grand thing that you are doing there Nicole and I truly admire your efforts, I just wish I could believe that ALL monies went to the place for which they were intended.

    Bless you and the best of luck

  6. Matthew 7:9
    Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone?
    Sonja
    Great Work for the Lord

  7. This is the best idea! I love what you are doing! A very generous deed for sure! Thank you!

  8. Nicole-great idea! May you be blessed for your kindness!!

  9. Such a wonderful cause!

  10. What a wonderful act of kindness! As you bless others, may the Lord bless you! (Friend of Shirley and family)

  11. I love it I come across a blog like this one you do make a difference in people lives,that is why I am here to post and share thank you keep up the great work. and loved the post good read
    i was moved by it

  12. Nicole, You are such a generous and caring person. God bless you.

  13. Love this! Good luck….I hope you can donate a TON of food to a wonderful cause!
    Love, Another Mrs. Hutchison (wink, wink)

  14. Oh! And you are SO awesome for doing this, Nicole!!

  15. Shout out to Helping Hands!! 😀

  16. I truly admire and am inspired by your generosity!

  17. Great thing you’re doing here, Nicole!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] the weekend, I posted this tribute for World Food Day. I promised to donate one canned item to the Helping Hands Food Pantry at my […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

