FALL … not your typical autumn scene

The Daily Post is at it again … this week’s Photo Challenge theme is FALL and I am super-excited to share a few photos I took this morning while “working” (very loose term, please understand!) at Tapp Farms, Inc.

I was graciously allowed by Kaleb (who you’ll see below) to ride with him on several runs from the farm to the grain elevators in Henderson – about a 25 minute ride each way. I’ve ridden in the tractor-trailer trucks with him before but to an elevator here in Sebree, about 10 minutes from the farm, but today’s route allowed us to catch-up on life and plenty of photo-ops for Wannabe Photographer here. Kaleb asked me several times if I knew what I was doing, as if he really had to ask. Of course I said no!

Anyway, I’m working on another super-duper-extra-special post so I need to make this quick. I hope you enjoy these FALL photos, they’re outside the box and not the ordinary autumn scene. They are, however, fall in ever sense of the word for farmers near and far as they race against the clock (and mother nature)(and commodity prices)(and each other) to get the crops out of the fields, into the storage tanks, and onto the grain companies where they are sold by the truckload.

My morning started extra early. I was actually already dressed and ready to leave when I took this picture of the clock on my phone. Kaleb arrived a few minutes later and off we went!

Overhead view of the storage tanks located at Tapp Farms, just outside of Sebree. There are multiple tanks and don’t ask me how much “stuff” they hold, I don’t know …. didn’t think to ask that question.

Here’s another view of the storage tanks and drive-thru where trailers are loaded from the bin above. This sophisticated set of machinery allows The Tapp’s to store and dry their crops to a preferred moisture content (12% is highly desireable, we were carrying 15.5% today) and then transported to a grain company and sold at market value. Farmers without storage facilities on their own property must transport crops directly from the field and yield a much lower profit because the grain company “dries” the product for them.

One of the trailer loads Kaleb sold today was deposited directly onto a barge on the Ohio River. There’s no telling where the product will go from there.

This was my first “chariot” of the morning … a bright red Sterling!

My handsome chaffeur, Kaleb. He and his brother, Kelby, are the brothers I never had. I love them dearly.

Sorry ladies, he’s not available. While Kaleb and I were taking grain to Henderson, his beautiful wife (Heather) was dressing their cutie-patootie daughter (Adalee Mae) (don’t you just love her name?!) for a baby pagaent at Clay Days, a local fall festival and community event. I still haven’t heard if Adalee brought the crown and title home or not …. but she gets my vote regardless!

Here we are pulling onto the scales to weigh the truck and trailer. Each truck must be weighed upon entry and again before exiting to measure the amount of product deposited into the storage tanks.

You think the ladies inside the scale house figured out how much I weigh? Lawd, I sure hope not!

Later in the morning, Kaleb said we were changing trucks. I didn’t ask why – wouldn’t have mattered anyway! I followed him into this white Peterbilt with camera bag in hand. I have to say though, the suspension was MUCH smoother in the red truck. But the Peterbilt sounded better on the highway.

HAHAHA I’m such a country girl!

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is pure money. This is what FALL is all about for farmers …. selling good product at market when prices are high. It doesn’t get anymore FALL than this. Forget the lottery, farming is real gambling.

I hope you enjoyed my interpretation of FALL for The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge. Be sure to check out the other participants’ blogs as well.

Comments

  1. Very..Very cool post!

    • Thank you, Fnkybee!!!!!!!

      I really hate knowing that we’re two hours apart right now, but there’s just no way I can make it to Nashville before I leave Friday. It’s been a crazy time ’round these parts and I haven’t stopped since I arrived last week. Geesh, I can’t believe my trip is almost over. (sad face)

      I’m gonna go cry now.

  2. great take on the challenge. I love the movement and feel in the first photo.

  3. Wow, I can almost feel the dust from these wonderful shots. To market, to market to buy the fat hen. Well done on a good crop!

    • Thanks, Patti! It was a lovely day (although it rained most of the morning) and this is definitely a great harvest for the farmers …. they had a late start due to heavy spring rains, but the Good Lord blessed them with good crops!

  4. wow – interesting – love the last shot – it has such movement

  5. I love this, Nicole. Just when I think I’m a city girl, you change my mind. ;o) I love you, and I’m so glad you’re having a great time in Kentucky!!!

    • Nah ….. as much as you and I love the hustle and bustle of modern, urban areas, our one true love is in the wide open rural spaces. You can take us out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of us!

  6. What a welcome change from trees.
    Yes for farmers fall is a busy time as everything must be either up from the ground or down into the ground before winter comes and like all jobs that harder you work the quicker the time goes by.

    Thank you for that , greatly enjoyable

    • You are right on the money, time goes by so fast when you’re in the field and trying to get all the crops in. It has been raining (you know, that water that falls from the sky …. it doesn’t do that in Texas, I forgotten what rain was!) everyday so the ground is wet and that makes for an even more difficult harvesting. Awww, Mother Nature, can’t live with her and can’t live without her!

  7. Great post a different kind of fall 🙂

  8. Hi! Your entry is not at all late!. I really don’t know how many people manage to get pictures out from their hats! Just like that. I like your photographs! Cheers.

    • Thanks, Cedric! I’m usually a Friday afternoon/evening poster for Weekly Photo Challenge but the last 24 hours have been crazy. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a cheerful comment, I really appreciate your kind words of support. These pictures mean a great deal to me, I’m glad to share with others!

      xoxo,
      Nicole

Trackbacks

  1. […] My favorite fall holiday is Thanksgiving. My favorite fall tradition (could be a holiday, in the right crowd of people) is harvest time in the fields. I love going home to Kentucky while the farmers are in the fields harvesting their crops. It’s a dirty, dusty time, but it’s a good time. I was home last fall and spent significant time on the farm riding on machinery in the fields and riding in the tractor/trailer to market. You can read all about the experience here. […]

  2. […] That means, if I want to see my loved ones I have to be willing to get in their environment. So, I went to the farm and captured fall in a whole new […]

  3. […] '';} } Insulation of PlumbingHow Chicago Purifies One Million Gallons of Water Every Minute [VIDEO]FALL … not your typical autumn scene – 27 & Countingvar switchTo5x=true;stLight.options({publisher:'wp.ea66121b-cb7d-42ab-a09d-e2c25b34d802'});var […]

  4. […] = ''; } Great American Truck ShowAaron Rodgers Drives A Truck, Dammit!FALL … not your typical autumn scene – 27 & Counting.broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

