New words in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary

So the dysfunctional intelligent folks at Merriam-Webster have released a list of words they’re adding to its Collegiate Dictionary. Read the full article here.

I’d like to take this opportunity to offer my own reaction to these new inductees to the dictionary.

Americana: genre of American music with roots in early folk and country music

My reaction: “HEEEEEE YAWWWW and pick yer git-tar!!!!”

cougar: slang term for a middle-aged woman seeking a romantic relationship with a younger man

My reaction: “Whatever floats your boat, my dear”

fist bump: a gesture in which two people bump their fists together, as in greeting or celebration

My reaction: “You gotta ‘blow it up’ too!”

helicopter parent: a parent who is overly involved in the life of his or her child

My reaction: “I know some of these…….bless their hearts.”

tweet: a post made on the Twitter online message service

My reaction: “I’m a  tweeter……you should follow me on Twitter @nmhutch!”

There, my ridiculous profound responses to a few “new” entries of the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary.

Do you feel smarter? Do you feel more intelligent?

I don’t.

Peace, love, and dictionaries,

Comments

  1. I wrote a similar article. To me this insane, what is our language becoming? I find it okay to write words like omg, lol and diy as abbreviations or while texting but is it necessary to make them “official” words for upcoming generations?

    I wrote a similar post as a reflection on a post that I reblogged a while back on new words that were being added to the Oxford English Dictionary. You can check out the post here: https://abitofeverythingnow.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/fyi-lol-omg-new-words-added-to-oxford-english-dictionary-via-linear-fix/

    I sure hope that a couple of years from now we don’t see sthu, or smh, or lmao in dictionaries.

    • You know, even has a 20-something I am extremely concerned with my generation and the ones after me because of the (poor) language habits. It’s amazing (but sad) when I’m in schools and listen to students speaking to each other, to adults, and their writing abilities ~ which, for the record, is not worth writing home about! Prime example: I taught 7th graders last year and I cannot tell you the number of times a student would write their paper using slang and abbreviations in an academic paper. LOL is not appropriate, neither is IDK.

      One reason I love to write so much ~ and to read ~ is because these lessons (good habits) were taught at an early age and language, reading, writing, comprehension, etc. were priorities. Yes, I realize math and science and technology are RULING the world we inhabit, but even the big companies are having trouble finding new employees because the applicants are poorly educated in communication, interpersonal relationships, problem-solving and skill applications.

      That’s my two-cents-worth…….

  2. Well I learned something! I had never heard if helicopter parent. Use in a sentence..” I don’t ever want to be a helicopter parent!”

    Fist pump and bump!

Trackbacks

  1. […] New words in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

