doing something more

When you are open to the possibility, the opportunity will present itself.

I found this but I don’t remember how. In the big scheme of things, it doesn’t matter. In doing so, I met Tara Mohr, a writer, coach, and creator of Wise Living. After reading some of her material and articles (such as this), it occurred to me that I want to take steps and do something more.

Her website, blog, and coaching have kindled a fire in me to pursue things I have considered out of my reach, unrealistic, unreasonable, or just plain silly. I’m silencing this inner critic and throwing caution to the wind. Tara has inspired me to take the first step.

I’ve made a pact with myself to become my own best friend. I am accepting opportunities, trying new things, and available for new experiences. I’m stepping out of my comfort zone. I’m going to do things I never imagined.

Ready? Let’s go! 

The first step I’m taking on my “doing something more” journey is to participate in the 2011 Girl Effect Campaign. This is a collaboration between hundreds of bloggers coming together to write about The Girl Effect on October 4, 2011.

What does this mean?

Adolescent girls are uniquely capable of raising the standard of living in the developing world. It’s been shown: she will reinvest her income and knowledge back into her family and her community. As an educated mother, an active citizen, an ambitious entrepreneur or prepared employee, a girl will break the cycle of intergenerational poverty.

That is the girl effect.

If you are interested in learning more about Girl Effect, click here. If you would like to participate in the blogging campaign, click here.

I’m nervous about my post for 10.04.11, but the cause is worth the effort.

Speaking of cause…….

If you’ve been following my blog, you already know about my recent mission trip to Haiti. As soon as I found Tara’s website and her invitation to join the Girl Effect Campaign, I remembered these three young girls I met in Port-au-Prince. My post for the Girl Effect Campaign will be in honor of these beautiful, precious, and influential faces.

I haven’t decided the topic/subject/theme for my Girl Effect post, but I’m comforted knowing that I don’t need all the answers. I am not an expert on Girl Effect (or any topic for that matter!), but this is for raising awareness and supporting a good cause. I will use the resource available ~ my blog ~ as the platform for educating others.

To help with my post, Tara offers several suggestions:

  • Post one of the six Girl Effect videos along with your reflections
  • Use stats from the website
  • Write about how you see the responsibility of the developed world to support the developing world, or how you see your own personal responsibility
  • Write about action you’ll take to take to make a difference
  • Post related photography, art or poetry
  • Focus on one specific issue related to the Girl Effect: girl’s education, AIDS in the developing world, child marriage, child prostitution, domestic violence, population growth, philanthropy, entrepreneurship, micro-finance, global poverty, human rights.

I hope you choose to participate and support Girl Effect with a blog post on October 4.

Peace, love, and do something more!

 

 

 

 

One more thing: let me know you’re participating so I can “bookmark” your site and read your post on 10.04.11.

We each have the capacity and ability to make a difference in the world. One small act at a time.

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] doing something more (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "eeeae8"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "000000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "497ca7"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "878584"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "7599B7"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "religion"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "poetry"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "videos"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "bodhirose"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "empowerment"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "global-girl-effect"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "self-esteem"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "the-girl-effect"); LD_AddSlot("LD_ROS_300-WEB"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:FacebookTwitterDiggRedditStumbleUponEmailLike this:Like7 bloggers like this post. […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

