Empress Smart-as-a-Whip!!!!!!

Say what?!

That was my nickname at tonight’s “Cocktails & Create” held at The Art Barn Studio!

This place is fantastic and tons of fun. Don’t worry, you don’t have to be Picasso Jr. to create custom, colorful, and creative keepsakes. Tonight was the third time I painted a piece of pottery at The Art Barn. I’m enjoying it more ~ and building my confidence! ~ with each visit.

 

Photo courtesy of TheArtBarnStudio.com

Hilary, the owner, and her staff (Lindsey, Adriene, and Katie) make sure each visitor has an enjoyable experience. They offer great suggestions and helpful techniques for a variety of projects, including paint-your-own pottery, barn art, mosiacs, and even wearable art (clothing and jewelry). They also have silver jewelry-making and their adding canvas projects to their “menu” of options. There is a wide array of items to suit your fancy!

The Art Barn Studio has also recently expanded its facility. There is lots of room for birthday parties, bridal showers, art classes, and school field trips. This place has it all, you really got to visit this place and get your ART on!!!!!!

 

Photo courtesy of TheArtBarnStudio.com

Once a month, The Art Barn hosts a ladies night called Cocktails & Create. I’ve been saying for months that I wanted to participate, but something always came up or I was out of town on event night. Well, I ran out of excuses or prior engagements (or both!) because tonight I had the privilege and honor to be with four lovely (and very artistic!) ladies from church. We had a blast creating our masterpieces.

 

Lil’ Dulce painted an owl, her school’s mascot! Her nickname was Princess Loud Mouth ~ hmmm!!!!

 

Mama Debra painted an inspirational plate for her classroom, she wrote “Believe” in the center. Her nickname for the evening was Queen Sings-in-the-Shower!!!!!

 

 

Jenny made a glass tile mosiac on a peace sign. Her nickname for the evening was Princess Shopaholic!

 

I must’ve drank too much sweet tea because I decided that painting a large platter with an intricate monogram and border within a limited time frame was a good idea. Perhaps my nickname should have been Table Idiot!!!!!!!

 

I’m still a-paintin’!!!!!!!

 

Four HOURS later………my pottery creation is complete!

I’m really pleased with the platter and I’m excited to see the final product. One must wait at least a week for their painted pottery to be “fired” in a kiln…..afterwards though, it’s all pretty and shiny and glossy. It’s gaw-geous dawlin’!!!!!!!

 

 

Mama Dulce showed off her uber-artistic abilities by painting this beautiful floral motif on a large round plate. This woman is talented!

 

She’s also lucky….as she won a doorprize. You would’ve thought she had won the lottery, but it was a miniature disco ball. YEAH BABY!!!!!!

Good times tonight, I can’t wait to see all of our finished products for a big reveal post. Stay tuned!

 

In the meantime, only 24 HOURS REMAIN until the “big kahuna” Celebration Giveaway ends. If you have not entered, you must visit this POST and add a comment with your name and email address. There are lots of great prizes included in this collection, you don’t want to miss out!!!!!!

 

Peace, love, and pottery,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. This looks like so much fun! I am impressed this your creation.

  2. That looks like so much fun! Please post pics of the finished platter. Can’t wait to see!

    • Painting pottery is loads of fun, you should try it!!!! I will definitely post pics as soon as I have the platter, keeping my fingers crossed that it looks as good as I hope. 🙂

      Nicole

  3. Celeste Zachry says:

    Wish I had been able to go. Your platter is beautiful. I love the way you tied in both yours and Kevin’s initials. Nice…

    • Thank you, Ma’am!!!! I borrowed the stamp outline from another monogram I found online and then pieced together the letters from another font. I traced the stamp outline and did the letters by hand…..turned out pretty darn good. You have to go with us sometime, it’s so much fun.

      Nicole

Trackbacks

  1. […] you read this post, you are familiar with my favorite local business, The Art Barn Studio. I had so much fun last […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

