Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

It’s Friday and that means a new theme from The Daily Post for their Weekly Photo Challenge.

This week’s theme is FLOWERS.

It’s becoming more and more obvious to me that I am in desperate need of instruction and a one-on-one tutorial of Photoshop. Each time I open this silly photo-editing software, my spirit (none to mention my ego) loses a bit of vibrance. I am painfully aware of my lack in abilities to manipulate a photo. But, alas, I am scheduled to attend a FIVE~hour class on Photoshop this November. Just 46 days left…….not that I’m counting!

Back to the photos for the week. Some of these are from a trip with my best friend to her wedding venue (A and M Gardens in Azle, Texas) and others are from my recent trip to Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

 

Don’t ask how I got this photo to look the way it does. Good, bad, or indifferent I was impressed with myself for a nano-second that I was able to accomplish such a feat. Now, I don’t remember what I did or how I did it. But I love orchid blooms and Kim’s engagement ring is gorgeous.

 

This one makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. How can you be sad if something is as bright yellow as this?!

 

I don’t  know what this flower is, but I like it. This photo was taken at the devastating scene and amongst the wreckage of the Hotel Montana in Port-au-Prince. The hotel facility catered to Western (mostly U.S. and European) clients and was completely leveled in the 2010 earthquake. The team and I were able to walk around the property where a new hotel and convention facility is being rebuilt.

 

This blooming flower bush was outside the Methodist Guest House and I just noticed the leaves are shaped like hearts and the center of each bloom has a star-shaped bud.

 

This bloom, to me, represents the Haitian people. They are the most driven, passionate, and tenacious people I’ve met. An earthquake may shatter their lives and destroy their homes, but their faith will not be shaken, their hearts will not be moved, and they will find their way through the rubble to the SONlight.

 

I almost forgot about this sunflower. I snapped this shot last month in Kentucky at my parent’s neighbor’s house. They have a great backyard complete with a fire pit, garden, and play area for their two daughters. On the edge of their deck, they’ve planted several sunflowers and the blooms are incredible!

 

 

Blue says hi.

I say enjoy your Friday.

Don’t forget to enter my Celebration Giveaway ~ it ends this Sunday at midnight. There’s a ton of great prizes, including a Target gift card, Scentsy gift collection, a cookbook by The Pioneer Woman, and custom made textiles from an Etsy shop. ENTER NOW!!!!!

 

Love,

 

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. The photo of your friend’s engagement ring sitting in the orchid is awesome Nicole – well done!
    The third image is a pink Frangipani, grown mostly in the tropics (they are very popular here in Oz). They come in a lot of different colours, the most popular being white petals with a yellow centre.
    The fourth image is a Bougainvillea – native to South America – but we have them in abundance here in Oz too! Anything grows here!

  2. Kayle Jule Photography says:

    Absolutely love the engagement ring with the flower. So adorable. I also like the little pink and orange flower. The little burst of orange in the middle gives it character 🙂

  3. Valerie Jennings says:

    I love the picture of Blue and the picture of the engagement ring placed inside an orchid. They are one of my favorite flowers.

  4. i love the third image – what a unique-looking flower. and i also like the one that cracked the sidewalk! (smile)

Trackbacks

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "0"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "d9d9d9"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "000000"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "222222"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "404040"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "challenge"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "kyoto"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "japan"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "kansai"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "mountains"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "photograph"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "postaday2011-postaweek2011"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_below_post"); Share via:TwitterFacebookEmailMorePrintRedditDiggStumbleUponLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. › […]

  2. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

