My Current Reading List

My initial plans of reading more books this summer has proven to be a more difficult task that I originally thought. One reason: I’ve been really busy. Secondly, I’ve been working my cutie-patootie off in the garden and corn patch in Kentucky, and now I’m packing again for a mission trip to Haiti.

Looking back to the month of June, I was a lazy bum holding the couch down. The month of July has disappeared into thin air and August is literally around the corner. Where did the summer go? What happened to the lazy days of summer reading a book?

Did you have any spectacular plans or intentions for the summer that you didn’t accomplish?

While I was visiting my family in Kentucky, I had the pleasure of attending my Aunt Georgia’s book club meeting. She’s one of the original, founding members of this book club. They have been meeting for 15 years and it’s something I admire, respect, and honestly, envy just a wee bit.

OK, I envy it a lot.

I would love to have a book club like this! This group has structured its monthly gatherings so one person hosts the get-together at their home once a year and provides dinner and drinks. Following dinner, the group discusses the monthly title. Members read 11 books a year and the 12th month (December) is used as a planning session for the next year ~ everybody brings 2-3 titles they “pitch” to the group and after everybody has suggested their recommendations, the group votes on 11. There might be a substitution made in the middle of the year, but for the most part, club members know well in advance the reading schedule and can purchase the titles they’ll be reading. It’s an ingenious concept that’s obviously stood the test of time. Sure, they’ve had people participate and leave to pursue other interests, but there are a dozen steadfast members that meet monthly. It’s not just for women either, there are two men in this book club as well. All in all, this group has built lasting friendships by reading and discussing a book. 

I’m glad to announce that Aunt Georgia’s book club has given me the distinction of Honorary E-Member……..which means if I read the book they are discussing, I can send my notes/thoughts to Aunt Georgia and she’ll share at their discussion! I’m really excited about this invitation. Plus, I’m grateful for their generosity and hospitality. 

I’ve participated in e-book clubs before and I’m doing another in the month of August. I know, like I have nothing going on, right?! Real Simple magazine hosts an online book club, No-Obligation Book Club. In April, I read Room by Emma Donaghue and loved the experience. You can see my discussion posts here, here, and here.

This month (August), I’ll read The Paris Wife by Paula McLain with Real Simple’s No-Obligation Book Club and South of Broad by Pat Conroy. with Aunt Georgia’s club. I have heard lots of good things about both titles, so I’m excited to read them. Plus, I’ll catch up on some of my summertime reading.

So, here’s the million dollar question: (there’s no money involved here, I don’t even have a million Monopoly dollars to give you)

Is it possible for me to create a book club where people read a book and meet to discuss? Would you be interested in joining me?

I can’t do this alone though. I need other book-lovers to commit to meeting once a month AND actually read the selected book title. If it sweetens the deal any, I’m willing to host the first meeting at my house! Are you interested?!

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Paris Wife—- I just was recommended this book and can’t wait to start it! I am working on 3 books right now, so I need to get one of those finished first. Book clubs are amazing- I hope you are able to start one. I’d totally join in but I am physically located far away 😦 I am thinking about starting one though, because well, have you seen ‘The Jane Austen Book Club’? That pretty much looks like the best party ever.
    🙂

  2. I’m interested! I really enjoyed having you at our book club and genuinely hope that should you be available to attend any of our future book club meetings you will. And you shouldn’t have any problem starting your own book club in Texas. Remember, we started with just five members. In fact, our very first meeting had only two people in attendance. Good luck and keep us posted on what you are reading.

    • Teresa! Thank you so much for the sweet and kind words, as well as the open invitation to join you at book club. I had a GREAT time last week and will definitely arrange my future visits around your meeting schedule.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting too, hope you’ll stay tuned to future posts.

      nicole

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

