Weekly Photo Challenge ~ BROKEN

I can’t believe it’s Friday again, this week has gone way too fast. I began the week with my folks in Kentucky, returned home in Texas late Wednesday night, and now I’m unpacking only to re-pack early next week for a mission trip to Haiti. Needless to say, it’s a busy time at our place. But, alas, it’s Friday and that means The Daily Post has a new theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s them is BROKEN.

 

A couple of weeks ago, Husband purchased a small bumper-pull trailer for a great price but it needed a new floor. Luckily, his wife is awesome (tee hee hee) and helped him install a new floor. But the pile of wood that remained was a sight for sore eyes. Seriously, the original floor was in bad shape. But a little elbow grease and team work, we successfully installed a new wood floor and it looks so much better.

If you’re looking at the doo-doo-brown grass around the pile of broken wood, that’s what our entire yard looks like. It’s dead. Obviously. I haven’t mowed since the first Saturday of May. The mower has a dead battery and flat tire. I’m in no hurry to repair either. Fortunately, the grass in the pasture is taller because Husband did not shred in the spring. That was a GENIUS moment for him at the time. Because of that, Blue has some sustenance, but we’re searching for hay and will need it within a week or two. We need – desperately – rain but there’s none in sight.

Happy Friday!

Nicole

Comments

  1. I like your blog…esp the lay out…i wish we didnt have to pay for it…

  2. The broken floorboards look at home in the dry grass, a lovely shot. Hope for rain soon and best wishes for Haiti.

  3. great photo subject. broken, worn out, just a moving photo. The dried grass reminded me of my front lawn.

    • Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting. Unfortunately, all of our grass and yard – even some of the pasture – looks like this picture. We need rain so bad, but there’s just no relief in sight.

  4. That looks like a lot of hard work. Use it for firewood…..maybe.

    • The demo was the easy part, but installing the new floor WAS hard work. Fortunately, my Husband is really smart and he devised a process that worked much better!!!!!

  5. Hi! that floors pretty broken 🙂
    good luck with the rain
    thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to leave a comment – appreciated 🙂
    http://www.4otomo.wordpress.com

  6. I certainly will! How much are yall needing?

    • We NEED just a few rolls, but K is interested in buying more if it’s available and reasonably priced. Even with one horse now, it’s better to have more on hand since the weather isn’t breaking any time soon.

  7. Well done on putting the new floor in the trailer, resulting in a pile of old, BROKEN wood for the photo challenge!
    Hope you get some hay soon, and pray for some rain.

  8. I like the monochromatic look of this photo. Hope you get rain soon!

  9. That’s funny. I was just thinkin’ I could probably go out near the barn and find something that’s broken to take a pic of. I know there’s plenty of things to choose from. We are feeding out all our hay. It’s a hot commodity right now!

    • I know, I hope people don’t think we live at the dump – hahaha!!!!

      If you know, see, or hear of anybody that’s selling hay, please let me know. K is going to his parent’s tonight for an auction tomorrow and has a tentative seller, but he’s not returned our call yet. Hopefully he’ll come through and we’ll have some…..SOON!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge ~ BROKEN (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

