Rain, Rain, come & stay!

From the horses’ perspective:

Dearest Rainmaker,

This nonsense has to stop.

You know better than we do that our owners (King and Queen) are cheap and don’t like the excessive costs of buying and hauling hay for us to consume and poop a few hours later.

The grass in the pasture is dry and disgusting. We want our oats sweet and grass green.

Thank goodness for the Queen’s mother in Kentucky. Bless that woman’s heart for sending us bags of treats flavored with oats, apples, and sorghum. We know they’re an annoyance to the King, because we get all up in his grill and sniff his jeans pockets, but we’re looking for those deeeeee-lish treats. Please tell Mother of the Queen that she can come for a visit anytime…..or send more treats.

Anyway, we’re in need of rain in these here parts of Johnson County, Texas. PLEASE send rain to the pasture we call home. Our feet are dry and beginning to crack. Come to think of it, the Queen recently painted our toes with a conditioning treatment and the King later complained about the cost of that product too. Something’s gotta give, and it ain’t gonna be us.

One more thing, could you turn down the thermostat and slow the wind? We don’t like grazing in 40 mph winds and accidentally chewing your mane is gross. 

Sincerely,

Curtis & Blue

 

The days of green, lush grass seem to be over. The photo above was taken last spring after I had mowed the front yard. Husband was on the tractor and forgot to shut the gate leading to the pasture and barn. The horses didn’t mind – they enjoyed the freshly mowed grass.

I feel for the horses, I really do. I went to the barn earlier and they were looking at me with these awful, pitiful eyes as if to say, “Would you please stop walking and kicking up dust!”

Curtis and Blue, I’m really sorry the weather sucks and your pasture is dry. I’ve suggested on numerous occasions that I should bring you both inside the house where it’s nice and cool. I think you’d nap like rock stars if you were under a ceiling fan and soaking up the A/C. But we all know Husband won’t allow it. Y’all know how he is, he’s an ornery ol’ fart. But we love him anyway.

 

Yep, there’s Joshua, Texas. Right smack-dab-in-the-middle of a huge storm system making its way through North Texas. What a lousy load of horse manure that is. I’m just a little upset we didn’t get a decent shower from this system that FINALLY broke through the FREAKIN high-pressure cap that sits atop North Texas from mid-April to mid-forever.

I have moments of rage and times of resentment towards living in Texas.  THIS is one of those times.

I don’t remember the last time I saw rain at our house. The counties north of us got a thirst-quenching rain storm the last two nights. There were a few storms that produced large hail and damaging winds, but, to my knowledge, there have been no reports of injuries. I watched and listened to various weather reports PROMISING rain to our area but ohhhhh noooooo, it had to skirt above, below, left, and right.

Life. Is. Not. Fair.

I want rain. Not the feast-or-famine kind of rain, but soaking rains to decrease drought conditions and fire dangers, improve foliage for livestock, fill lakes and rivers, and replenish the water content needed in our home’s concrete foundation.

Honestly, I don’t ask for rain for myself. It’s not that I don’t want relief for my chapped lips or sweaty armpits, but I really want rain for our horses and pasture. My feelings are hurt when I watch them eat. Unfortunately, weather conditions are not cooperating.

I used to mow the yard twice a week or more. The last time I cranked the lawnmower, I had to use jumper-cables on the battery because it was dead. I’m willing to bet the same will be true if I ever mow again.

(stepping off soap box)

 

Comments

  1. Wow, I guess we need to be more appreciative of what we get around here. We just had rain today and I didn’t think too much of if…other than “Oh yeah!! Baseball might be cancelled!!” But thanks to this post I will value the heaven dew a little more!

    Great site.
    Beth

  2. Hey! I totally understand the rain issue. After we planted our garden, it didn’t rain for a month and a half.
    It becomes frustrating sometimes. I do have to say, When I first started reading your blog, I totally missed the part about it being the horses Perspective….I was like…?? -lol- But I finaly got it. One of those Doh! moments! It’s been a long day.

    So anyway, I know I just started reading your blog, I really enjoy it. You are definitely on my “Lovin Blog Award” list.
    Keep up the good work! http://alookintomymind.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/481/

    • WOW – thank you so much, what a kind compliment. I’m very appreciative! I hope you’ll be a frequent visitors, I’m looking forward to visiting yours as well. Thanks again! 🙂

  3. Girl, we lucked out and got an inch and a half last night. However, just 5 miles south at my in-laws…they got 5 inches and 6 just 10 miles south. Crazy! But I’m thankful for anything we can get. I haven’t mowed in days either. The picture of the grass (http://www.thediamonde.com/2011/06/21/west-texas-heat/) between my folks house and hanger….got RAIN too! It’s truely a miralce to get rain out there. Growing up, it was like an event that people gathered for. 🙂

  4. I miss having horses around. Curtis and Blue are beautiful.
    I hope you get rain soon in Johnson County, Texas!

    • Thank you! Curtis and Blue are (for the most part) pretty spoiled rotten, except I’m begging for rain to keep them cooler. I was serious about the bringing them in our house part, I would sooooo do that if I could get away with it!

  5. I’m sending you some of our rain, Nicole. We had rain last night and I’m thinking, ‘Ok now, my flowers have been watered, I have a graduation party Saturday (granddaughter) and i need my cushions on the bench dry’.
    Tell Curtis and Blue its from a distant cousin from Kentucky but now lives in Michigan..
    I love your posts. You are a very talented writer (couldn’t remember, 1 t or 2 in that last word, lol)
    Keep up the good work, and i’ll continue to pray for rain for Texas, especially Joshua…

  6. I like the post, but feel for y’all re: the weather. Hopefully you will get relief soon.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Rain, Rain, come & stay! (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Rain, Rain, come & stay! (mrshutchison.wordpress.com) […]

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

