Super Simple Pot Roast

Summer has officially started. HIP HIP HOORAY!!! To celebrate, I fixed one of Kevin’s favorite meals (what’s up with that?!): pot roast and mashed tators. It’s not at all summer-y, but the A/C is down, the ceiling fan’s on high, and it’s kinda chilly in here!

I chose this particular meal for its convenience. Today was the last day of school for teachers and I was hoping I’d get home early but I honestly didn’t want to cook. As it turns out, Kevin got home and before he even came inside, he cranked the Dodge and loaded Blue into the trailer. Husband or no husband, bon appetit to me!

I went to bed last night later than I should have. To make matters worse, I had to be at school for an extra-early faculty meeting and then a day of hurry-up-and-wait. I won’t bore you with the mundane details of my day except for this: I survived my first year of  teaching middle school. I’m celebrating with a hearty dinner and an evening of controlling the TV remote by watching The Housewives. It’s good to be me!

This pot roast is SUPER easy. If you can plug-in a Crock-Pot, you can make this meal.  

This post isn’t a formal recipe. Prior to leaving this morning, this was my routine (note: I haven’t been to the grocery in two weeks, so these are all “staples” in my pantry):

  • plugged in the Crock-Pot
  • add one large carton of beef stock and one large carton of chicken stock
  • one package of Knorr’s vegetable seasoning mix
  • splash or two of Whats-this-here sauce (that’s what I call Worcestershire, don’t hate me)
  • teaspoon of minced garlic
  • teaspoon of beef base
  • couple of teaspoons of cornstarch
  • add the roast
  • set the Crock-Pot to LOW, cover, and let the magic begin

As soon as I got home, about 7-8 hours later, I set the Crock-Pot to WARM. The meat was falling apart, which is perfect. I boiled potatoes for mashed tators, made gravy, and baked biscuits. Just as the husband was clankety-ing (boots + spurs + tile floor = clankety clank clank) out the door to the roping pen, I enjoyed dinner.

It was deeeee-lish.

Obviously.

Comments

  1. Lindsey Simpson says:

    I just love reading your blogs, but you have to stop making me hungry at 11pm. I am hungry from reading this and looking at that picture! Didn’t know that you were a chef! Seems like I am always reading of your homemade meals! Take care girl and enjoy your summer off for the both of us.

  2. Crock-pot meals are so easy and convenient – and when you come home the aroma is everywhere – how welcoming! You can never go wrong with a meal like this – your pot roast looks delish!

  3. That looks very yummy! I’ll have to try that out. Love crock pot meals. Just throw it in before going to work and come home to the house smelling good.

    • The house smelled simply divine this afternoon…….perhaps the only thing that smells as good is when the Housecleaning “Fairy” visits and the house smells clean and fresh! haha

  4. looks delicious too.. congrats on your last day of school.. enjoy your summer… those bisquits look might good too…

    • Thank you! Those biscuits are right out of a can – this is one easy and simple dinner. A secret to canned biscuits: instead of the suggested 400-degrees, I set my oven to 350 and let them bake a few minutes longer in a “cooler” oven. I don’t like overly-brown biscuits. Kevin, however, is the opposite. Go figure! 🙂

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

