A wish for the birthday girl

To the girl sitting beside me in the front row of Dr. Bridges’ journalism class shivering with cold bumps and asking for my jacket…..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that became a study buddy…..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that SAVED me (literally!) from Media Law and understood all that shit to the point of insanity and re-taught Bridges’ lessons in dumbass terms so I could comprehend enough material to complete assignments…..Happy Birthday.

To the girl moving out of the Kappa Delta sorority house and asked if I’d be interested in living with her…..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that found an apartment (a sprawling 1,212 square feet of living space, no less!) across the street from the Journalism Building……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that didn’t believe me when I said Rob Frazier has a big crush on you…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl with some serious taste in music……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that drove me around her hometown (Paris, Texas) and showed me the mini-Eiffel Tower and the statue of Jesus wearing a cowboy hat and cowboy boots……Happy Birthday. (that was stellar by the way)

To the girl that introduced me to Chicken Express® sweet tea and Mama Faye’s tanning beds……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that enjoys snowcones just as much as me……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that continuously teaches me to live without reservations……..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that took care of me when I was sick, lame, and just so pitiful it was pathetic……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that accepted my allergy diagnosis better than me and taught me that Silk soymilk was not THAT bad……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that moved to Houston and bought herself a really nice, don’t-make-me-kick-your-ass, stop-me-now-cherry-red Ford Mustang that I can hear before she turns in our driveway………Happy Birthday.

To the girl that came to my bridal shower……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that moved to Los Angeles and fell in love with California…..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that moved back to Texas…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl that simply tells it like it is……..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that has a key to my house (and my heart)……..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that believes the world would be a better place (and much better looking) if clothing companies would limit their production of tube tops, mini-skirts, and Daisy Duke shorts to single-digit sizes…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl that will tell me (anybody for that matter) that I cannot leave the house wearing THAT outfit…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl that entrusts her raw, uncensored emotions to me……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that shared the truths (and some rather disturbing facts) about “river-toooobing”……..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that currently lives in Austin, thank you for introducing me to vegan cupcakes at Sweet Mama’s and vegan queso at Kerbey Lane Cafe…..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that thinks I’m the strangest – yet nicest – person she’s ever met…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl that introduced me to the strangest word on the planet (chode) and now I constantly find it in my daily vocabulary……..Happy Birthday.

To the girl that is in LOVE with Rob Frazier……Happy Birthday. (hallejuah, rejoice, about damn time)

To the girl that makes me laugh……..Happy Birthday.

To the girl my husband calls Spark Plug…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl that can bull-shit toe-to-toe with my husband without batting an eyelash and make me laugh even harder……Happy Birthday.

To the girl that makes me smile……Happy Birthday.

To the girl I’m so thankful to call my friend…….Happy Birthday.

To the girl that I consider my sister…..Happy Birthday.

I love you, Birthday Girl. I hope this year is bigger and better than your wildest dreams.

And, finally, I will end this birthday wish with the simple response that Kim has shared with me and fits every situation and conversation perfectly:

Word.

Comments

  1. Georgia McDaniel says:

    nothing like girlfriends….Happy Birthday Kimberly.

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

