Four-Ingredient Pizza

Plain. Simple. Cheap. Milk-free.

My favorite words to describe a fresh homemade meal.

Even though I cannot enjoy the creamy delicious-ness of an ooey-gooey cheese pizza, I can satisfy my cravings by using non-dairy (most often vegan) equivalents. My biggest complaint, however, is that “faux” cheese doesn’t melt. You can grill it, broil it, bake it, or fire it with a torch and the stuff won’t melt. OK, I made that last one up, but I’m telling the truth about the others.

If you prefer a pizza pie that’s no-fuss, I think you’ll like this little creation. I used a prepared crust and pre-made sauce, but I cooked my own pork sausage and used organic goat cheese.

Four ingredients.

The recipe below is completely dairy and milk-free but feel free to make this pizza to your liking, that’s the beauty of homemade pizza anyway.

I used Freshcetta Artisan® thin pizza crust. It was on a corner-display at the local grocery AND it’s milk-free. When I find new products that I think might be tasty and they’re milk-free, I get excited. Again, use your preferred brand of pizza crust or make your own.

FYI: This is not a paid advertisement or a product review.

1 prepared pizza crust

1 jar pizza sauce

1 lb pork sausage, cooked and well-drained (I seasoned with chopped onion and diced garlic, plus paprika, salt and pepper)

6 oz. crumbled goat cheese

Preheat oven according to package directions. Spread sauce evenly on top of crust then add your favorite toppings. Bake 12-15 minutes, or until cheese is melted (if you’re using “faux” cheese this would be a waste of your time and the pizza will be ruined) and the crust is golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool at least five minutes before slicing.

Easy stuff.

I drizzled olive oil and both sides of the crust before adding the sauce and toppings, then sprinkled with chopped basil and parsley. A pound of pork sausage might be too much for some, especially if you add more toppings, but I like a meaty pizza.

Make. It. Your. Own.

 Amen.

Comments

  1. Georgia McDaniel says:

    darn that sure does look tasty! I don’t like sausage but I think I would like it with lean ground beef or ground turkey.

  2. YUMMY!!! I love easy meals that taste so good… and, this looks like one.

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

