A penny for

I’m asking for your feedback, suggestions, and comments in regards to…….

digital SLR cameras

I want to buy a digital SLR camera with nice, yet simple, features. Operation should be so easy a caveman (ahem, this Country Girl) can use it.

With this camera, I want to take pictures. Better pictures. I don’t require video capabilities, but I think most models have them. Perhaps I’ll learn some tricks and upload a video to my blog.

Budget: less than $1,000

Nikon? Canon? I don’t have a preference right now. I’ve used Nikon since 2001 and been pleased. In high school, I had a Nikon (the kind with 35mm film – remember those?!) that I used for the yearbook. Since 2007, I’ve used a Nikon CoolPix.

What kind of camera do you have? Why do you like it?

If you had to buy a camera today, what would you get?

Do you prefer a particular brand? If so, name it and explain why.

What do you like/dislike about your camera?

Last, but not least, my final question (I’m sorry for all the questions, but I’m curious and I’ve been grading students’ quizzes – questions are consuming my brain!):

In your opinion, what’s the best camera I can get for less than $1,000?

Feel free to leave a comment below or send me an email.

nicole.m.hutchison at gmail.com

P.S. I love y’all. Really. I do. I love all y’all – that’s slang for “all of you”– so much I’m offering a contest. Have you entered my giveaway? It ends this Friday, May 13.

Comments

  1. What kind of camera do you have? Why do you like it?
    I’ve got a Nikon D3100, and I LOVE it. I used to have an old film camera in college — a Minolta, I think? And ever since, I’ve been wanting a digital SLR. I got my Nikon right before my trip to St. Maarten, and it took the most GORGEOUS photos. I know you saw them. =)

    If you had to buy a camera today, what would you get?
    If I had to buy another one…I think I’d get the D3100 again. I think the D90 is a better camera, but it’s also more expensive.

    Do you prefer a particular brand? If so, name it and explain why.
    My mom has the Canon Digital Rebel, and it’s pretty nice, but I feel like she doesn’t have a thorough understanding of the settings. To me, that one is a little trickier to use right off the bat. I also find that the default color settings on the Nikons are better. I can’t explain why — I’ve just noticed that with the couple I’ve experimented with.

    What do you like/dislike about your camera?
    I like that it takes amazing photos. I dislike that I haven’t had much time to actually teach myself how to use it. I also dislike that it doesn’t have a built in wireless remote control capability. I have to order one special that operates on radio frequency, so that I can use my tripod to take my outfit pictures. 🙂

    I think the best camera you can get for under $1000 would be either the D3100 or the D5000. I say these two because they are well enough under $1000 that you can also get two lenses and a few other accessories (like a travel bag or a tripod…or a bounce flash — those things are amazing) to get you started.

    Can’t wait to see what you decide! Let me know if you need help locating a good deal once you decide on a camera. I got my D3100 w/two lenses, a UV filter, a bag, two DVDs, and some other crap for $700 shipped. =)

    • Lisa, you NEVER disappoint – thanks for the incredible feedback. You have no idea how much this helps. You need to be my personal shopper if you got ALL of that for $700…wow! With little research I’ve done thus far, I think additional accessories (especially a second lense with more zoom) are necessary. I need to do my homework and make a decision because I’d love to take this camera with me to Haiti – and I’d have a couple of months to learn how to operate it!

      You’re the best, Lisa – thank you!

  2. Hey Nicole~ I use a Nikon D60. I have 3 lenses: 18-55mm, up to 200mm and up to 300mm. I also added a speed flash (external flash) to mine.
    I’ve been using this camera for about 2 years and am ready to upgrade it. I’d like the Nikon D90. It allows videoing, whereas the 60 does not.
    And just an idea: I took 2 a class in Dallas put on by Sony. It taught the basics. I felt I wasn’t using the camera to it’s potential. Still don’t but I have a MUCH better knowledge of how it works now.

  3. Georgia McDaniel says:

    You need to call your Uncle Cris. he knows lots about cameras

  4. I have a Canon Rebel, and it’s been an awesome starter SLR. I love it because it’s super easy to use and takes great quality pictures. Check it out! :- )

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

