Cock-a-doodle-do

I live in a house full of cocks.

The "rooster perch" atop the kitchen cabinets.

It’s true. Well, it’s really a kitchen full of cocks. I won’t – and Kevin definitely won’t – allow the collection of roosters to overflow into other areas of our home. They are “contained” within the kitchen and that’s fine by me. I think I’ve made the statement that I collect roosters, I don’t want to be called the “Crazy Cock Lady.” Less is more, right?!

Some roosters are ceramic, others are glass, one is cast iron, and my favorite is made of barbed wire.

This little guy sets on the window ledge above the kitchen sink (nice view of the front yard and pasture too). I use his "feathers" to hold my ring while I'm washing dishes or cooking.

This collection began when we moved into our home in September of 2007. I received the first rooster, made of cast iron and painted bright red, as a bridal shower gift from the sweetest, most precious, little lady in Kentucky that wrote,

Every home needs a rooster to symbolize confidence and prosperity; and, it will watch over you and your family. Congratulations to you and Kevin, may God bless this marriage.

The one that started this collection!

 

Four years of marriage and a rooster collection later, Kevin and I are enjoying life in our rooster perch. Who would have ever thought I would have a kitchen full of cocks?!

Rooster made of recycled barbed-wire.

A funny cock story: my parents drove from Sebree, KY to Joshua, TX a few months after Kevin and I moved into our home. Dad and I were outside walking around and discussing plans for supper and suddenly realized we did not have a grill. Luckily, Wal-Mart is just down the road about 10 minutes. I went to the food section and Dad headed off to the lawn and garden department. Twenty minutes later, Dad is pushing a cart filled with a bag of charcoal, a charcoal grill and this rooster:

A gift from my Dad

Me: “Nice cock, Dad.”

The words escaped my lips before I could stop them.

Dad: “It’s a gift from ol’ Dad for your new home. Smartass.”

I don’t look at that rooster without thinking about our trip to Wal-Mart.

In between hours of teacher certification projects and lesson planning, I did some rooster research today. Roosters are interesting creatures. (Credit: www.whats-your-sign.com)

  • Roosters (male chickens, often called cockerels or cocks) guard the area where his hens are nesting, or protecting their eggs. He usually sits four or five feet above the ground and “looks out” for the flock. If predators arrive, he will sound a distinctive alarm call.
  • In Christianity, the rooster is remembered for crowing three times after Peter denied Christ. Thus, the rooster symbolizes Christ’s passion.
  • The rooster symbolizes honesty in China.
  • Sacred in Japan, roosters are allowed to roam freely amongst Shinto temples because believers think the rooster’s crow at dawn brings followers to morning prayers.
  • In dreams, roosters are considered time-keepers. Whenever you see a plumed rooster, it’s time to let others see your true self and “strut your stuff” by showing your gifts and talents.
  • The national emblem of France is the rooster.
  • Roosters are also symbols for pride, honesty, courage, diligence, strength, and watchfulness.

I’m not very knowledgable of the Chinese Zodiac (except for what I read on the placemats at the local Chinese restaurant), but the rooster is in the calendar and I thought it was relevant. According to the calendar, Kevin was born in the year of the Dragon and I was born in the year of the Pig. Geez, how ironic. Oh well, I’m a bacon lover. Oink. Oink.

Traits of someone born in the year of the Rooster include, according to www.chinesezodiac.com:

  • confident, motivated, loyal, trustworthy
  • individuals are blunt when offering their opinions
  • very sociable
  • extremely organized and keep neat homes (yeah right, here’s a big clue as to why I’m NOT a Rooster!)
  • active and in good health
  • if this person takes on too much, they become stressed and moody (who doesn’t?!)

Happy Saturday, y’all.

Cock-a-doodle-doo,

The Crazy Cock Collector

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

