It’s the little things that matter


It’s going to be nice to be home later this evening, but the time spent in Austin with Kimberly has been wonderful. I think we both did a world of good for each other. She needed me, and I needed her. We re-fueled our souls with the peace, love, and serenity that were missing. Life gets chaotic. We get caught in the rat race. Plus, at times, life is just plain shitty.

It’s been an emotional and reflective weekend for both of us. She is at a crossroad where a decision will impact the rest of her life. I think everybody has stood at that crossroad, in some sense or another. I know for sure that I have.

This weekend, I had the opportunity to reflect upon my own life and consider my own situation. Specifically, the decisions I’ve made to get where I am. I don’t regret these decisions at all. In hindsight, I’m glad I took a leap of faith and trusted the unseen possibilities, the hope of something greater than my own understanding, to have the life I live. Whatever you call it (luck, chance, blessing, choice, etc.), I’m glad I accepted the opportunity to experience life outside my comfort zone. Now, I believe I am a stronger, more grounded person because of my previous decisions. I’m not saying every decision has been the right one, or the best one, but I am content with who and what I am. I realized this weekend, though, that I have taken too many things for granted. I’m incredibly humbled and apologetic.

When I get home later today, and I see Kevin, I want to kiss him. I will whisper ” I love you ” in his ear and hug him tight. I will forget, for a moment at least, the luggage in my car, the dishes in the sink, and the general clean-up around the house that needs to be done before another week begins. I will focus solely on him. Most importantly, I want to reconnect with him. 

I’ve spent eight years (four years married) with Kevin. We have this life of “us” because we are constantly together. Being “us” has become a habit. How easily I’ve forgotten the months spent apart by hundreds of miles and spanning across four states. A long-distance relationship is hard work. At times, it royally sucks. The pain of loneliness can be overwhelming when you are craving a touch from the person you love so dearly.

I needed this weekend. Not only to be with Kimberly, but I needed her to remind me of the little things I’ve neglected at home. For this, I’m incredibly appreciative.

On a lighter note, here’s a recap of our wonderful, amazing, and spectacular weekend in Austin:

 

This little guy is an angel in disguise.

Lunch with friends at Baby A.

Kimberly & Nicole (or Kimberly & The Giant)

Texas is obviously experiencing a drought because the "Twin Falls" is a dry rock bed. Please, no diving.

View from the trail

Sometimes you must stop and smell the roses…and see the butterfly.

 

 

 

When all else fails, and you’ve called your mother, you must…

 

at

 

then savor every crumb and morsel until you have…

 

Are you drooling on your keyboard?

 

Be jealous. Be very, very jealous. Those were some very tasty cupcakes. Kim savored the Dreamsicle (which, surprisingly, was not orange-y overload) and I devoured Sweet Charity (moist chocolate cake with vanilla icing). Just one little regret here: I wish I had gotten those two crumbs left in the wrapper. That’s a shame!

I’ll let you in on a little secret about these two flavors of cupcakes: they’re 100-percent Vegan. Shhhh, don’t tell anybody. No, wait, tell the whole world and Kim and I will eat them all!

That’s all, for now.