Why am I the lucky one?

You know the voice. The tone that means something is wrong.

I missed her call this morning while I was at church. The most wonderful, sincere, honest, and dearest friend of mine is suffering from a broken heart.

She’s the best Best Friend a person could have.

She deserves all that life has to offer.

She deserves to be happy. She deserves kindness, respect and honesty. She deserves to be held and comforted. She deserves to be pampered. She deserves accolades. She deserves to love and be loved. 

This situation she finds herself in is unspeakable. It’s unexplainable. It’s impossible to understand. Will my friend find love again?

After our hour-long conversation, I began to question my own situation:

Why am I the lucky one?

Comments

  1. Georgia McDaniel says:

    I know that kind of hurt…turn to God and he will be with you when you cry, scream, cuss, explode in anger, and think you can’t go on..God is there while you experience the worse pain and heartache you have ever experienced…you scream why…over and over…slowly you will heal and go on and soon you will realize that God has made you whole again and life will go on and you are a better person because of what you have gone through. I realize God brought me closer to him. I depend on the Lord and know He will always love me and take care of me. He has blessed me! I am so sorry your friend is hurting. Be a really good friend to her and call her often. She needs to feel loved.

    • I wish you were going to be near Austin this weekend so you could spend it with us. Kim will be enjoying the bourbon balls I got her at the Brown Hotel and I’m sure we’ll enjoy a glass of wine or two. I sure wish I had some of Aunt Kathy’s bourbon slush though. MISS YOU! LOVE YOU!

  2. I believe Susan is right on the money. No luck involved.

  3. I’ve wondered the same things, darlin’. My husband is a good man who lives by principles and faith. We’ve been married for 36 years. Many of my friends are divorced, single precious women and I have listened too many times to their broken heart experiences. Long before they were old enough to think about romance, I prayed for my boys to blessed to find the love of their lives, “God, bring the right woman to them at the right time and help them to love and trust.” They are both grown men now & happily married to the person who is just right for them. Maybe your mama or someone else who loves you nagged our Lord with the same requests for you.

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

