HAPPY FEET

HAPPY FEET!!!!!

This little piggy went to the market
This little piggy stayed home
This little piggy ate roast beef
This little piggy had none
And this little piggy went “wee wee wee” all the way home!

My mom used to tell me this nursery rhyme and I would giggle as she tickled my toes. My favorite part was “wee wee wee” and I’d always scream with delight. Today, I thought of this nursery rhyme again…along with a few others who showcased their little piggies (toes) too, in honor of One Day Without Shoes.
 
While I did not go completely bare (feet, that is) today, I supported One Day Without Shoes by wearing my TOMS shoes. After all, the founder of TOMS, Blake Mycoskie, created this awesome event with a bunch of college kids wanting to make a difference…and a difference they made!


 
Since 2008, more than a quarter of a million people have gone barefoot and this number is expected to rise with the event’s increased media attention and popularity. I would have gone barefoot today, except: 1) it’s not allowed in my school district; 2) the floors at school are really gross; and, 3) did I mention it was against district policy for teachers to be barefoot?!
 
This year, Microsoft is participating (the company even encouraged employees to go barefoot at work!) and says it will purchase 1,000 TOMS shoes – which means another 1,000 shoes will be donated to the needy. Wow! This remarkable event has quickly stretched beyond our nation and reached global audiences. Click here for more information on this really cool – and really beneficial – event!

TOMS Shoes founder Blake Mycoskie says that not having shoes puts kids at a heightened risk of injury, disease and infection. Among the soil-transmitted risks that most can’t afford to prevent and treat are:

  • Hookworm: Causes anemia, stunted physical and mental development and, on occasion, congestive heart failure. Affects up to one-fifth of the world’s population.
  • Podoconiosis or “mossy foot disease”: Causes swelling of the feet and legs due to prolonged exposure to certain types of irritant soil.
  • Chiggers: Bites on the feet and ankles from these mites can cause severe itching and hives.
  • Tetanus: Potentially fatal infectious disease caused by bacteria entering the body through cuts or other open wounds. Causes painful muscle spasms and locked jaw.

In addition, many schools in rural developing nations require students to have shoes to attend schools, so not having shoes is a roadblock to opportunity.

One thing I love about TOMS shoes (besides being soooo comfortable) is the fact that for EVERY pair sold, the company donates a pair to someone in need. That’s so cool!

Think about it: if half of the world’s population would buy a pair of TOMS shoes, the other half would get a pair too! We’d all be wearing some really comfy shoes, PLUS we’d all being making our own contribution to helping those in need. I’ll let you in on little secret: the TOMS website has a clearance section. (That’s where I got mine for more than half off the regular purchase price!)

Here’s my sales and marketing pitch of the day: It doesn’t matter if you pay full price or clearance price, help someone in need by buying a pair of TOMS shoes – plus they are really comfortable AND worth whatever price you pay!
 
My seventh-grade students are mighty impressed when Miss H (that’s me) comes to school wearing TOMS shoes. I score style points from a bunch of cranky teenagers – that rates among “creating a cure for cancer” on my Bucket List.  

The best part about wearing TOMS? Knowing that somebody, somewhere, is wearing a pair too, because of me. That makes my little piglets go “WEE! WEE! WEE!”

While taking these terrible self-portraits of my feet, Curtis and Blue started walking toward the barn…and a lightbulb lit (figuratively, of course). Blue wears horseshoes, and he was being stupid, so he didn’t participate in the fun. Instead, Curtis (our retired rope horse) and I showed off our feet (without shoes, of course) for the special day:

Curtis supports "One Day Without Shoes" every day!

We couldn't show off our pretty feet without showing our pretty faces too. (*smile*)

Comments

  1. A good cause and some nice shots!

  2. What a great idea! I am barefoot most days anyway!
    I wish they sold TOMS in my country, because I’d rush out and buy myself a paid – they look so comfortable.
    Love the pic of you with Curtis – very special.

    • Thanks, Barb!! TOMS are super comfy, that’s a bummer though that you can’t get a pair. Did you check their website? They don’t ship to your part of the world? That’s not fun. 😦

      Have a wonderful day!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

