Keepin’ it interesting

I married my best friend ~ 03.31.2007

Is your marriage (or relationship) interesting? Is it fun?

I think it should be.

No matter how many days, months, years, or decades you’ve been together, you must keep things fun and interesting. And, by all means, do your own thing once in a while!

For example, Kevin and I celebrated our fourth wedding anniversary Thursday. Before I left the house early Thursday morning, I left a trail of Post-It notes in our bathroom and kitchen expressing my love and appreciation to the man who I married and the one that makes me laugh, keeps me sane, calls me crazy, laughs at my goofiness, and the one who is completely supportive and my biggest fan. It’s good to be me! By the time I got home Thursday evening, Kevin was putting his boots on and getting ready for team roping practice. I got an anniversary kiss before he left. It tasted like Dr. Pepper. They usually do.

The day of our wedding anniversary included no spectacular surprise, bouquets of flowers, dinner reservations at an exclusive restaurant, or any other Grand Poobah event. It was just me doing my thing and Kevin doing his.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, we are low-maintenance people who appreciate our time together, while enjoying the things that make us happy. Earlier today, we went to Wal-Mart with a list of four things and walked out with four BAGS of snacks, produce, batteries, and tire cleaner. Does that happen to anyone else? Does this scream with romance?!

We spent a half-hour at Home Depot trying to get a propane gas tank but the kiosk was broken and would not unlock the cabinet with full tanks. Finally, a sweet young man with a Miracle Key solved our debacle and we went on our merry way, with a full tank in the truck. Our final stop was the feed store. I am living the life when a Saturday afternoon adventure includes batteries, tire cleaner, a loaf of bread, propane, and horse feed. I love my life.

I did something this afternoon I’ve never done before: drove (rode?) a zero-turn lawn mower.

I learned something new this afternoon: I’m not very good with a zero-turn mower.

University of Kentucky Wildcats

So, here we are. It’s 5:17 on a Saturday evening, Kevin’s napping in his recliner and I’m typing this. I’ve got laundry to fold, dinner to reheat, and a Kentucky basketball game to watch. It’s a great day to be a Kentucky Girl.

GOOD LUCK CATS!!!

Go Big Blue!

Friends, keep it interesting and have fun…..we sure do!

Love,
Me

P.S. have I shared recently how much I LOVE my blog readers?! Well, I really love you! Keep your comments and suggestions coming, I read every single one of them and try to reply to them all too. If there is a specific topic or theme you’d like me to cover, send me an email at nicole{dot}m{dot}hutchison{at}gmail{dot}com. I am also interested in guest posts too, I’m trying to expand my horizons and find new niches in the blog world.

Love all y’all!!!!

Comments

  1. I have been married 14 years today. I go to
    Wal-mart all the time and buy more than I came in for and sometimes I buy nothing. It just depends on my mood.

    • Happy Anniversary, Connie!

      Thanks for stopping by, I hope you will visit my blog reguarly. As for trips to Wal-Mart, it’s like my car is on auto-pilot, I can’t NOT drive by and NOT stop. It’s crazy. I don’t know if I’ve ever gone in there and come out with just a few things. It’s a rare feat for sure!

      Have a blessed day!
      Nicole
      🙂

  2. You have the makings of a good and lasting marriage Nicole!
    I’ve been married to my best friend for 41 years now, raised 3 children and lived in 3 countries. I can honestly say that life is still interesting and wonderful! We treasure each day together, and are happy to stay home on our wedding anniversary, just the two of us. Our life is simple and we like it that way.

  3. P.S. Happy 4th anniversary. Our 15th is next month & we are still very much in love.

  4. I noticed the caption on the photo that you married your best friend. That’s always great to hear. So did I. When so many marriages are breaking down these days it’s always really refreshing to come across a couple who are really close & great friends too as so many are married but not really friends. A lot of usbands would rather be anywhere else than at home with their wife & a lot of women probably feel the same. I am constantly amazed at so many blokes I know that go off with their friends every weekend & are never at home. My Dad was always like that & it’s sad. It’s only since his retirement that he spends most of his time at home & I think he & Mum are now closer than they’ve ever been.

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

