A little this and that…but no foolin’ around

Happy April Fool’s Day. No joke. Really, I hope you’re having a great day!

Consider this a potpourri post, it’s got a little bit of everything.

This week’s photo challenge from The Daily Post is LIGHT. I took the photo below last November on my way back to Texas. Every time I drive to Kentucky and have to leave, I cry my eyes out. Honestly, a few tears are falling now as I remember those incredible moments when the sun is rising to say, “Good morning, Nicole. Be safe and come back soon!”

Kentucky Sunrise ~ November 2011

I took today off to spend it with my husband. Yesterday was our fourth anniversary. We had dentist appointments this morning and then his parents and brother, Chad, drove from East Texas to have lunch with us (Spring Creek BBQ, yummy!) and see our renovated bathroom. It’s been a pretty good day, but I am fighting trying to stay awake and not take an afternoon siesta!

I thought the dentist’s office was playing an April Fool’s joke on me, but I think the employees at Alsbury Dental in Burleson got the message: I was not in the mood, nor was I impressed with their inability to serve us in a timely manner. Kevin’s appointment was at 9:40 and mine was 10:00. We arrived at 9:30, I completed paperwork for us both (Kevin’s handwriting is terrible and I’m OCD about it…so just leave well enough alone) and Kevin was called back at 9:40. So far, so good. At 10:10, I was finally called to the back. Strike One. A nice girl leads me to an exam room and I sit down. She quickly takes x-ray pictures to update my dental files. I’ve never been in a dental exam chair with a 20-inch LCD TV above my head. Nice touch.

Fast forward to 11:25. More than an hour has passed since I arrived in the exam room. I’ve watched one too many episodes of HGTV’s “Designed to Sell.” I’m not the slightest interested in the TV anymore either. Strike One-and-a-half. Armed with the very “fashionable” bib that you wear, I left the exam room and began my search for someone who could answer one question:

What the hell is taking so long?

I found Kevin and noticed that the hygentist working on his pearly whites was nearly complete. Go figure. This is not looking good. Nice Girl sees me and tries to reassure me that it’s a scheduling problem with the Front Desk Coordinator and a hygentist will be with me shortly. She apologizes profusely. I’m not impressed with the excessive wait, but I sit back down. Ten minutes later, Too Talkative Hygentist re-appears. She had visited my room earlier, but when she began reading patient notes that I knew were not mine, she looked confused and I was worried. She left. I waited. Strike Two.

The Too Talkative Hygentist apologized for the excessive wait and began to explain to me the benefits of regular flossing. What-the-ef-ever. Please, just clean my teeth so I can get out of this damn place. Believe me, if you think I’m irritable just wait until you piss off my husband. Trust. Me.

She finished her polishing and I did a final rinse and suck (that mini hand-held vacuum thing at a dentist’s office is a world wonder to me, I swear one of these days it’s going to suck my tongue out of my mouth!). As I am swishing mouthwash – what was the point of that?! – she prepared a goodie bag for me to take home: toothbrush, toothpaste (travel-size, great for my upcoming mission trip to Haiti), and the inevitable floss (oh good, I’m so excited). NOT!!!!

When I get to the main desk, Kevin is scheduling his follow-up and making small talk with the ladies. He obviously had a better experience than I. Lucky dog. We both have follow-ups in the near future. He’s got a filling that needs to be replaced and I have eight metal (silver) fillings that should be replaced with a modern composite. How much do you suppose the silver in my mouth is worth?! Luckily, our insurance is AMAZING. The out-of-pocket expense for both of our filling replacements, including my eight composites, will be less than $200. Praise God for insurance!

All in all, if Kevin had a good experience and is pleased, I’ll return to Alsbury Dental. Kevin has had some really terrible dental experiences, so if he’s happy, I’m happy. I’m a good wife like that.

Moving on…

This week, I received a package from A Taste of Kentucky, a retail shoppe and online retailer of all things Kentucky. The MOST DELICIOUS ginger dressing in the entire world is made in Prospect (a suburb of Louisville). I’ve had it in Japanese sushi restaurants in Louisville but I was first introduced to the dressing by my Aunt Georgia. I know she reads my blog, so I’ll go ahead and say it: she rocks!

Tokyo Ginger Dressing atop iceberg lettuce and homemade Sourdough croutons

Question for my blog readers: have you hosted, or participated in, a recipe swap party?

I want to have a recipe swap party. I’ve heard of them, but never been to one. I’ve also heard of clothing swaps, but I don’t think that’s for me. Mainly, I’m fat and all my friends are skinny. This is true, ask anybody around me! A clothing swap with my skinny friends would be pointless.

What do you think of a recipe swap?

I love to eat. All of my friends love to eat. We may not be the same size (I’m not even in the same ballpark), but we all enjoy good food!

Barb19, you were so disappointed when I made Papaw George’s BBQ chicken and failed to upload photos of my culinary creation. Well, the chicken was so tasty that I made it again (second time this week) AND took some photos. I hope you enjoy this dee-lish-ous-ness for the eyeballs:

I was feeling extra sweet, so Memphis-style is perfect!!!

butter and barbeque sauce heating in a large baking dish

fresh off the grill

Yum, Yum!

Well, there you have it. I think I have successfully posted the most random, chaotic blog post ever. Yay for me.

I love hearing from readers and I appreciate every single one of you. It’s amazing how quickly the number of visitors to this page has increased in the past weeks and months. I’m so grateful for your generosity and acceptance. I hope you will keep visiting and keep commenting on my crazy, chaotic, and simple life.

I love you. I really, really, REALLY do! 🙂

Comments

  1. I appreciate you thinking of me when posting the pics of Pawpaw George’s BBQ chicken Nicole – it looks absolutely scrumptious!
    btw – love the photo of the Kentucky sunset!

  2. Loved dropping by! It was like looking at my blog because we have the same theme! Will definitely be dropping by again! 🙂

    Loved the picture of the sunrise picture, which was what made me pay a visit in the first place!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

