Friday’s Foto: OCEAN

Beachfront Sunrise ~ Riveria Maya, Mexico (July 2009)

I took this photo when I went to Mexico in July 2009 and let me tell you: I was NOT impressed. As you can see in the photo, the beach area sucked. It was rocky and the sand was terrible. Now, before you ask, sand CAN be terrible and this sand was. It was impossible to enjoy the crashing waves because they “crashed” about a half-mile from shore. In order to get to any safe swimming area, one would have had to walk about 100-feet PAST the cabana pier (in the picture above). No thanks.

We (the amigos and amigas on the trip with me!) spent a day on the island of Cozumel and it was awesome and beautiful and just lovely darling!. I loved, loved, LOVED snorkeling. We spent another day perusing Chichen Itza (which I humorously named Chicken Pizza, it sounds better with a Southern accent anyhow), one of the Seven Wonders of the Modern World. How often do you get to say you have visited one of those? Not often, so I put my big girl panties on and dealt with the crappy beach and warm-water pools.

Me off the coast of Cozumel

Let me set the record straight about the photo above: I did not kill this starfish. Repeat, I did NOT kill the starfish. Our snorkel guide, Fernando, dove to the bottom of the ocean and brought back to the surface two starfish for us vacationers to gawk at. We kept the starfish IN the ocean until the person with the camera was absolutely finger on the button ready to go then SNAP! the picture was taken. I don’t want any animal rights’ activists accusing me of mistreating marine life. It was a Kodak moment, I took the opportunity, I was kind to the starfish, and I hurriedly returned his pointed body back to the sea about 0.2 nano seconds later. End. Of. Story.

My first lunch in Mexico was at good ol' McDonald's. I was glad to get food and air-conditioning. The fact the burger was milk-free was icing on the cake. Just remember, I did NOT eat the fries. Those were savored by other amigos.

There’s a long story that goes with this picture. Let’s just say I was never so glad to see those Golden Arches as I was this particular day in Cancun, Mexico. God bless McDonald’s for providing milk-free options!!!!! (Warning: if you have a milk allergy or are lactose intolerant, do NOT eat the fries at McDonald’s. A milk (casein) powder is added to the potatoes before the perfectly sized fries are formed into the ridiculously famous McDonald’s french fries. See? You learned something new today, didn’t you? You’re welcome.)

Go ahead.....be jealous of this hot babe!!!!!

There are few words to describe the photo above. I will say, however, that you are free to be as jealous as possible of my awesome and smokin’ hot bikini body. (now, let’s all laugh out loud together: ready……set…..LAUGHING!!!!!!!!)

At the end of the day, you gotta be grateful for what you have instead of focusing on the disappointments and let-downs. When I left the crappy beach area, I went to the swimming pool. Now, the water temperature was too warm for my liking but the views weren’t bad and the cabanas were plush. I recommend the king-size bed loungers that are located around the pools. This one here was mine for the week. I would plop (yes, plop) my happy ass on that cabana bed around 7:00 am and leave burnt, crisp and red-as-a-lobster about 7:00 pm. If I couldn’t savor the ocean, dammit, I was going to soak up the sunshine. I went overboard one day and burnt the girls (ladies, you know what I mean). They were a little sore but they healed nicely with extra TLC and aloe vera.

Moral of the story: when life hands you avocados, make guacamole!

Comments

  1. I once went to go diving at Cozumel, MX. They serve the best grouper ever. They also have great beaches there.

  2. Shame about that beach – but your other photos made up for it, they are great! I didn’t know about the milk powder thing used in McDonald’s fries, so I did learn something new today – thanks! Good old McDonald’s!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

