Clearing the “lint” for Lent



As the Season of Lent nears I want to take a few moments to reflect on the meaning of it of all, at least for me. I am no theologist (well, actually I am, but that’s an entirely different post), but I try to live the best I can with what I have. In the words of John Wesley, founder of the Methodist Church,

Do all the good you can,by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as you can.

Here goes my cheesy explanation about the relationship between lint and Lent:

Urban Dictionary says lint is a synonym for crap or sh*t (sorry Mom) and it can be anything unpleasant, bad, or upsetting. UD goes on to say lint can be used in the same context as “dead” or used to express negative emotions. That’s a great description for someone (me!!!!) traveling along life’s journey toward Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent, holding onto sin, anxiety, worry, and a lot of other crap instead of giving it all to God.

In the Christian faith, Ash Wednesday is the first day in the season of Lent, which lasts 40 days (except Sundays) leading up to Easter. Ash Wednesday services often include the practice of placing ashes on your forehead ~ in a cross formation ~ as a sign of repentance. (Yeah, I need that.)

I am looking forward to this Lent particularly because I am excited to focus (no, I mean really focus) on penitence, devotion, and renewal of the relationship with my Heavenly Father. As easy as it is, I’ve let life and all its distractions get in the way of what’s important. Things that should not matter do and things that should be priority have taken a backseat.

For the next 40 days, plus Sundays, I will commemorate the temptations of Jesus; the sacrament of Holy Communion at the Last Supper; Jesus’ betrayal, crucifixion, and death; and then I will celebrate with praise the resurrection and empty tomb on Easter morn. After all, I believe Jesus’ story did not END on the cross…rather, it BEGAN with the empty tomb!

During this Season of Lent, I’m cleaning out the lint. Literally. One of the lint fuzz-balls in my life is the daily consumption of a Route 44 cherry Coke from Sonic. Water or tea will suffice…plus, I’ll save 5-bucks a week. Multiply that by eight weeks and I’ll be tithing an extra $40 this Easter. I’m going out on a limb to admit that 40 LESS grams of sugar a DAY will do my body good.  

The fuzzy fluffy fabric balls I find in my bellybutton, or in the pockets of my pants, now have a brand new meaning to me. While doing laundry, I always check the lint filter and make sure it’s clean before starting the dryer. I make it a priority to sweep a sticky lint-roller across myself (especially when wearing black dress pants) before leaving the house. I’m pretty good at clearing the lint filter in the dryer. Now, I’ve got to work on the lint clogging my spiritual filter.

Comments

  1. Whitney Spainhoward says:

    I’m loving your blogs, Nicole. Especially the lint/lent post. Thank you for the reminder of the need to clean my “lint trap” 🙂

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

