Turning Over a New Leaf

Kaitlyn & Nicole - CTCYM Mission Trip 2010 (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)

Genesis Youth Group,

It is with a very heavy heart that I send this note to all of you who are involved with Genesis Youth Group at First UMC Joshua. I have spent ten months in mission and ministry with you and I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to serve with all of you. I have learned so much about life, faith, ministry, and community.

There comes a time when one must make a choice. I have put in much prayer, thought, deliberation, and conversation over the last few weeks and months about this difficult decision and I have made the choice to step down as youth director. While this is a painful decision, I want to assure you that I am comforted knowing that I still have a place at First UMC Joshua. This church holds a very special place in my heart and I look forward to continuing in worship and service as God’s children in our community and abroad.

I encourage you to keep discovering and challenging your faith as you seek to understand what it means for you to follow Jesus here at First UMC Joshua, and I hope we can all continue to celebrate one another in our own unique journey of faith. One of the greatest gifts that I have received since joining this church, and working with this youth group, is the steadfast love, support, devotion, and encouragement from the Youth Advisory Council, the SPR Committee, and Rev. Lara. They are a tremendous team of supporters working together for Genesis Youth.

Even though I will no longer be youth director, I will continue to pray, encourage, celebrate, and support each of you; and I hope you will do the same for me. It is a very exciting time in the life of this church and I am so grateful to be a part of this faith community.

Grace and peace be with all of you,

Nicole

Courtney displaying her beautiful creation at The Art Barn Studio (May 2010)

Carren is the queen of hammering nails - she rocked this doghouse project!!! (May 2010)

This is me in the doghouse, literally! (May 2010)

Nicole and Troy at the Putt-Putt Fun Park (July 2010)

Dulce and Nicole at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History with some ultra-stylin' 3D glasses!!!! (August 2010)

This snapshot became stellar when we realized Kaitlyn's 3D glasses are upside-down, she's so funny!!!! (August 2010)

Thank you, Margaret Feinberg, for sharing "Organic God" with Genesis Youth!!!! (August 2010)

Genesis Youth at Pumpkin Patch 2010

Progressive Dinner 2010

Super Bowl XLV Party at Nicole's House (January 2011)

Nicole showcasing her prized artwork at Galactic Blast VBS (July 2010)

Keep the faith, Genesis Youth Group ~ you are an amazing and talented and blessed group of people. I’m stepping down as your youth director, but I’m NOT stepping out. I’m still here. I’m still going to be a part of this wonderful community of faith we call home: First UMC Joshua. You guys rock. I love you pieces!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

