Five Questions

Thank you, Miss Stacy for introducing me to the five questions. While I’m a day late (and a dollar short?!), I love your responses and wanted to join the fun and provide my own. Thanks also to My Little Life!!!!

Rules for Five Question Friday: Copy and paste the following questions to your blog post, answer them, then link up at My Little Life’s blog! You can also link back to my blog so I can share in this with you  Most importantly, HAVE FUN!!

1. Can you drive a stick shift?

Nope. Sure can’t. My husband thinks it’s awful and I don’t particularly care what he thinks about this. Funny story: several years ago when I was still in school at TAMU-Commerce, I spent the weekend with Kevin and his family. The neighbor’s cows found a hole in the fence and were walking on the county road. Fortunately, the cows never got to the busy highway. Unfortunately (plot thickens!), I found myself in the driver’s seat of Kevin’s truck, which had a stick shift. Imagine for a second…Kevin is walking in the ditch trying to stay wide of the road and “herd” the cows back into their rightful place (the hole we thought was in the fence was actually a gate that had been left opened). I was a nervous wreck and refused to get out of first gear. The cows were walking slow, but I drove slower. As long as I stay behind the cows and kept moving forward, though, the cows walked forward. My approach to this situation was working just fine. Moral of the story: don’t give me a stick shift to drive, it’ll take me FOREVER to reach my destination in first gear!!!!!!

This is my preferred speed - with Dad at age 2

2. What are two foods you just can’t eat?

Well, that’s difficult to name just two because I am severely allergic to cow’s milk. No, it is NOT the same as lactose intolerant, I get so tired of people asking or assuming that. (scream!) I could list a whole host of things I cannot eat, but I will keep it simple for this audience: milk and milk products. 

MOOOO-ve away from me, Cow!!!

3. Do you buy Girl Scout Cookies?

No. Two reasons: most varieties are made with milk and I am not a fan of the endless tables setup at public places with young girls and their mothers trying to entice me to buy their cookies. I’ll be honest, I was never a Girl Scout. Actually, I remember going to an information meeting when I was in the first grade and I left 15 minutes later ~ IN TEARS ~ when I realized I would not get the uniform and cookie boxes THAT day. Bummer. Hindsight is wonderful though, I’m soooooooooo incredibly grateful I did not pursue that group or activity. Praise the Lord for country club memberships and golf clubs. Besides, I think more life lessons are learned on the golf course than the sidewalk outside of Wal-Mart. 

4. How do you pamper yourself?

I purchase a plane ticket to Kentucky and make sure I have a book for the ride. There is nothing more calming, relaxing, and just plain AWESOME about going home. If that’s not possible, I’ll take a book and a porch swing. I hate getting my haircut (which reminds me, I’m way overdue for a trim), my feet are too ticklish for a pedicure, and manicures are a waste of money. It would be a disgrace to my wonderful husband if I didn’t mention our newly remodeled and KICK BUTT master bathroom. Yeah, it’s that awesome.

5. What is your nickname and how did you get it?

I honestly don’t have a nickname. Really.My Dad has this thing about nicknames and I think it might be genetic. My name is Nicole, it’s not Nicki. No offense to anyone named Nicki. Actually, I an alternative name, but few OCCASIONALLY use it: Five-Twelve (as in five feet, 12 inches). I was with a group of ladies from church painting at the new parsonage and one asked me to touch-up a spot she could not reach. She commented, “How tall are you, like 5-12?” It stuck. But nobody really uses it, unless the moment is right. For the record, I am not 5-12, rather, I am 5-11. Close enough.

Now its your turn to answer. Don’t forget to link back here and at My Little Life.  Please, leave a comment too.  Have a great weekend!

Comments

  1. This is a great page thanks for the bit of fun!!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

