Caution…true story ahead!!!

(actual conversation at the grocery tonight)

Cashier scans soymilk: “Yuck! You drink this stuff?”

Me: “Nope, I pour it down the drain as soon as I get home.”

…awkward silence follows for several seconds…

Seriously, a sarcastic person (i.e., Your Truly) could not dream a more perfect scenario. I really try to be a nice person ~ really ~ but I honestly could NOT control this response. It was an out-of-body experience. My mouth did not ask my brain for comment filtration. My brain did not try to stop my mouth’s impulse. The comment rolled off my tongue without hesitation. It was not until the awkward silence moment that I realized the words left my mouth in an audible tone. Oops.

I probably insulted the poor kid – I’d guess a junior or senior in high school – but c’mon, kids these days need all the verbal direction they can get. (Oh my gosh, did I just say kids these days? Really? Am I that old? Oh. Em. Gee.) 

Comments

  1. Don’t feel guilty – the kid had no right to ask a personal question about your preferences anyway. Your answer was perfect!

  2. Why feel guilty? The ‘poor’ kid should feel the same after insulting your own tastes for soymilk. Haha.

  3. That’s funny.
    I blurt out the obvious…often. I’ve taken up the habit of saying,”Did I just say that out loud?” to whoever I have offended or confused.

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

