500th Visitor ~ Super Bowl XLV ~ Back to Work

First, to my blog’s 500th visitor…THANK YOU!!!!! I feel very privileged to have so many readers. This is a very special accomplishment, I really appreciate each and every person that stops by. To all of you, from the bottom of my heart, thank you.

QUEEN OF CAKES! Thank you, Marilyn, for making this very awesome cake for the youth's Super Bowl XLV Party. You are very, very talented!

OK, so in case you live under a rock, there was a popular football game tonight: Super Bowl XLV at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX. As the youth director at my church, and with my husband’s consent, I hosted an informal party for the kids. There were about 15 here for hot dogs, pizza, chips and dip, and lots of soft drinks and sugar-filled desserts. The food was teenage friendly and there was not a morsel left…I swear, they’re like Hoover vacuums when it comes to food and beverages. I decided to play devil’s advocate and cheer on the Pittsburgh Steelers since most of the youth (and adults) were supporting the Green Bay Packers. Lucky for them, the Packers are Super Bowl Champs. I’m really glad this over-rated sports event is over, because I’m ready for the local news reporters to find a new story. It’s been a very tough week for Jerry Jones and his Cowboys Stadium, local media, and out-of-town visitors: the weather did not cooperate whatsoever; parties were cancelled, promoted, then cancelled again; Christina Aquilera royally effed-up the National Anthem; the halftime show was less than stellar; and there are lots of angry ticket holders denied access to their seats inside Cowboys Stadium. Go figure. I’ll take the comfort of my house with our TV any day of the week, especially with the ginormous crowds, hellacious lines at security, and traffic nightmares in and around the DFW Metroplex. No thank you.

Back to the weather for a moment…Dude, I don’t wanna go back to work tomorrow!! Awww man. I’ve had a week’s vacation, without using any vacation time. Granted I will probably have to make up the days at the end of the year, but this time off has been wonderful. I truly do NOT want to return to work tomorrow!!! There’s an arctic weather system coming through North Texas this Wednesday, maybe – I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Happy trails, y’all and goodnight!

Comments

  1. Thanks for the shout-out! And thank you for inviting us over. We had a blast!

    • Marilyn – thanks for checking out my blog and THANK YOU BUNCHES for these very awesome and tasty cakes. (Not exactly the breakfast of champions, but I took a piece of that cake this morning. Yum!!!)

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

