The honeymoon is over

Let me just preface this blog post by saying it’s 11:35 pm and I should most definitely be asleep since I have to get up early and be at school for a teacher’s prep day. Students do not have class but teachers have to be on-campus to finish grades, tidy their rooms, and prepare for the new semester. Well, my grades are finished, I do not have a room to tidy (unless greasing the wheels on my cart counts?) and I am ready for classes to resume on Tuesday. Yes, I am an over-achiever. Go ahead, be jealous. Very jealous! Alas, I will go in tomorrow and double-check (again!) my final grades, roam the halls to visit teachers just because I want witnesses and proof that I was present, and then – if the copying machine is still working – I will make some copies and cross my fingers that I can leave shortly after lunchtime. One great benefit of professional development and prep days is the extended lunch time. Remember, teachers get an average of 20-25 minutes to eat their lunch. Slow, purposeful chewing is out the window. I’ve bitten my tongue more times that I can count because I’m eating too fast. The last couple of weeks, I’ve eaten a fruit cup in front of the students. Oh well.

Back to the original purpose of this pre-midnight blog post……..the honeymoon phase of this bathroom remodel is OVER. I am so ready for this damn thing to be DONE. Seriously. I want my bathroom back. I want my house back. I want the workers out of my house, along with their tools and the awful mess they are making. This house was dusty before this “adventure” began, but now it’s just plain disgusting. The multiple layers of dust, dirt, and wall plaster are overwhelming. I’m tired of living out of a suitcase (our attempt at dust control in order to wear clean clothes to work, without having to do a load of laundry before dawn each day). Home remodeling is over-rating, I don’t know what we were thinking. I know one thing’s for sure, however, I bet my husband never – EVER! – does this again!!!! He’s more frustrated than I am, so you’re getting the clean version. Lucky you.

I would take pictures of the progress, but there is nothing to see except cloth-covered tile, tub, and shower. Juan began painting today so all of the tile on the floor and shower, as well as the new bath tub, have been covered to protect it from paint. Supposedly, according to Big Juan himself, the paint will be finished tomorrow (Friday), Mario will install the cabinets (this should be interesting since we never saw them during construction), and Luis is finishing all electrical work (installing new light fixtures and control switches). The tile will have grout by Saturday, granite countertops and sinks will be finished by Wednesday, and the glass doors for the shower should be installed by next Friday. Yes, that’s right – another week left in Kevin & Nicole’s Excellent Adventure.

To add to my discomfort, I met friends at a local Italian restaurant Tuesday evening and I really – REALLY – regret ordering food. Italian is a dairy-allergens nightmare. I ate a house salad and spaghetti with mushrooms and marinara. I think the mushrooms may have been sautéed in butter (instead of oil, like I ordered) because my lips, neck, and throat are swollen now. It’s the only thing I’ve eaten that I did not prepare myself. Ughhhh…..when it rains, it pours.

Enough of this pity party, I’m going to bed for at least a couple of hours. Goodnight, fellow bloggers – and happy weekend!

Comments

  1. But just think how GORGEOUS that bathroom is going to be when you get it finished! Can’t wait to see the finished product.

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

