Mushroom Quesadillas

I am beginning to prepare the menu for our New Year’s Eve – Bring In 2011 party and this is definitely at the top of the list for an appetizer. I love when I am bored and flipping through a magazine and find a recipe I want to try immediately. I especially love the fact it can be assembled and baked to serve throughout the night. I know my friends will love this one!

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound portobello mushroom caps, sliced
1 package (16 oz) baby spinach
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1 romaine lettuce heart, sliced
8 flour tortillas (8-inch-size)
4 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
1 cup salsa or salsa verde

Preheat oven to 425° F. Line 2 large cookie sheets with foil. In a large saucepot, heat oil on medium. Add mushrooms, cook 5 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. With slotted spoon, transfer to medium bowl, discard liquid. To same skillet, add spinach, cook 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in 1/4 teaspoon salt. Transfer to bowl with mushrooms; discard liquid.

Arrange 4 tortillas on cookie sheets; top with spinach mixture, add goat cheese, green onions, then remaining tortillas. Bake 10-12 minutes or until tortillas are golden and crisp; rotating cookie sheets between upper and lower racks halfway through baking. To serve, top with romaine lettuce and salsa.

*Recipe courtesy of Good Housekeeping, December 2010

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

