Red Velvet Brownies

The Coastal Chicster is my blogger hero and this post is dedicated to her. I wish I had an ounce of her fashionista-ness, but I will keep my comfy ways as I sit here in my sweats and t-shirt. She loves me regardless.

For those who might not know, I have a severe allergy to cow’s milk. Unfortunately, I cannot have this recipe as posted. Luckily, I can substitute my soy-based products for the milk products and happily rejoice in Nicole-ville just the same. I am sooooo looking forward to trying this recipe. If the brownies turn out half as good as the picture in the magazine, I am going to be one happy fat girl!!!

1 bittersweet chocolate bar (about 4 ounces), chopped
3/4 cup butter
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 bottle red liquid food coloring (1 ounce)
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
Cream Cheese Frosting
Garnish: white chocolate curls

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line bottom and sides of a 9-inch square pan with aluminum foil, allowing 2-3 inches to extend over sides; lightly grease foil. Microwave chocolate and butter in a large bowl until melted and smooth, about 2 minutes, stirring at 30-second intervals. Whisk in sugar. Add eggs, 1 at a time, whisking just until blended after each addition. Gently stir in flour and food color, baking powder, vanilla, and salt. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake at 350 F for 44-48 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few moist crumbs. Cool completely on a wire rack (about 2-3 hours).

Lift brownies from pan, using foil sides as handles; gently remove foil. Spread cream cheese frosting on top of brownies, and cut into 16 squares. Garnish with white chocolate curls.

Cream Cheese Frosting
1 package (8-ounce) cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoon butter, softened
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

*Recipe courtesy of Southern Living magazine, December 2010

Comments

  1. Thanks for the shout out. 🙂 These look delicious. I’d love to try them out sometime…maybe for the New Year’s Eve party I was invited to…. 🙂

    Happy holidays!

    Lisa

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

