Shrimp with Roasted Tomato and Feta

Seriously, how good and tasty does that picture look?

Here lately, I’ve been on an extreme shrimp-kick. A new grocery story (H-E-B) has opened in our area and I am impressed with their fresh seafood counter. A couple of weeks ago, I hit the mother-lode when they had jumbo and colossal shrimp on sale when you bought three or more pounds. The man behind the counter was very nice and wrapped the shrimp in one-pound packages for me. I was delighted when I found this recipe that combines shrimp with another favorite ingredient of mine: grape tomatoes. My parents in Kentucky grow an amazing garden every summer and my Mom keeps a grape tomato plant in an old whiskey barrel on the patio…there is nothing sweeter than a tomato right off the vine. Dee-lish-yum!

To add color to this already-colorful dish, I recommend using red and yellow grape tomatoes. You could also use red or yellow roasted bell peppers. If you like it extra spicy, thinly slice a jalapeno pepper and add to the baking dish – YIKES!!!!!

2 pints grape tomatoes
3 garlic cloves, sliced
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 1/2 pounds medium raw shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/2 cup chopped jarred roasted red bell peppers
1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 package (4 ounces) crumbled feta cheese
2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
Crusty French bread, sliced

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place tomatoes and garlic, oil, salt, and pepper in a 13×9 baking dish, tossing gently to coat. Bake 15 minutes. Stir in shrimp and peppers. Bake 10-15 minutes, or until shrimp turn pink. Toss with parsley, feta cheese, and lemon juice. Serve immediately with warm bread.

*Recipe courtesy of Southern Living magazine, December 2010

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

