a get-together for Jesus’s birthday

Aside from nursing an upper respiratory infection (cough cough), I’ve been planning a small get-together for Christmas Eve with friends and their kiddos. What better way to celebrate Christmas than through the eyes of children?

Before heading off to church for the early Christmas Eve service and Jesus’s Birthday Party, complete with cake (that’s how we Methodists roll), I made a little buffet of finger foods:

  • Spinach dip in cucumber cups
  • Avocado hummus with pita chips
  • Stuffed portabello mushrooms (vegetarian)
  • Pork medallion sandwiches
  • Mini cupcakes with chocolate frosting

It wasn’t exactly the most traditional holiday menu, but that’s what we ate. Neama said he began fasting a week ago in preparation for spinach dip. He lies. I made the avocado hummus because it’s incredibly delicious, creamy, and simple to make with a food processor. When Cara (who’s vegetarian) and her family agreed to come, I knew I had to serve lots of veggies, including a heartier option alongside the roasted pork sandwiches consumed by the carnivores in attendance. I opted for portabellos stuffed with artichoke, red bell pepper, cream cheese (dairy free, of course!), and manchego (sheep’s milk) cheese. For an added crunch, I topped each mushroom with whole wheat bread crumbs soaked in butter. That’ll make your skirt fly up!

Those mushrooms were sooooooooo tasty that I didn’t even have time to snap a photo before they were gone ….. no joke. Definitely making these again soon. Very soon.

While singing “Hark! The herald angels sing” it occured to me that our worship leaders (Rev. Lara, Rev. Clint, Shannon, and Kristen), wouldn’t have time for a meal between services at 5:00, 7:00 and 11:00 pm. My solution: deliver plates of food to them! They were such happy creatures.

Cameron enjoyed the birthday party for Jesus (notice the icing on his cheek, chin, and nose). He and several other kids even stood in front of the congregation and sang “Happy Birthday” after a few carols. It was so sweet. Afterwards, everyone continued the celebration with a special birthday cake.

And finally, as if Jesus’s birthday cake would satisfy this crowd’s sweet tooth, I baked up a whole slew of mini yellow cupcakes with chocolate frosting. According to Reece (6), Lilli (4), Cameron (3), Maddie (9 months) and Husband (35), I am on the Awesome List.

My job here is done.

Merry Christmas!

Happy Hanukkah!

Joyous Kwanza!

Happy Holidays!

I hope you all enjoy this season with your friends and family.

 

THIS BLOG IS MOVING!!!!!!!!!!!

Beginning January 1, you can find us at Three 31.

Comments

  1. Fred and I want to wish you and Kevin a Very Merry Christmas.. My two daughters and 5 grandkids will be here in about an hour and half.. We having a big old country breakfast before the kids open the gifts. (i think the anticipation is better than actually opening, not so sure they agree).. the food you had for your gathering looked delicious.. big Christmas hugs

    • ohhhh big country breakfasts, MMMMMM!!!!!! I’m going to church this morning and then we’re headed to East Texas for the rest of the day to spend with the Hutchison family. Good times! I jumped out of bed this morning secretly hoping a blanket of snow had fallen, but to no avail. Darn! Merry Christmas to everyone!!!

      xoxo,
      Nicole

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

