honey & cinnamon (a cold remedy)

Of all days to wake up with a congested head, stuffy nose, and annoying cough, today was a bad choice.

I went to bed last night feeling like my allergies were acting up (watery eyes, sniffles here and there) so I took some Bendaryl and called it a night. This morning, I wake up and my head feels like it’s been run over by a freight train, a Mack truck, AND a tugboat. (I used to work in transportation consulting, I had to include multiple modes in my scenerio.) This is NOT how I envisioned spending my holiday break.

Besides being off from school for two weeks, I have something really important to do at noon today that requires me to verbally communicate and I really don’t want to send negative vibes because I sound like I’m speaking through a bull horn. This is not going according to my perfectly laid out plan. (I’d share more details about this very important conversation, but I don’t want to jinx myself.)

Having nothing better to do, I logged onto Pinterest and typed in “quick cold remedy.” Let’s be honest, Pinterest is better than any modern medicine ….. and there’s no waiting for an appointment to see the doctor. I really don’t have time for this crap, I need a quick fix. Fast.

What I found was interesting nonetheless and even as I share this post with you, I’m eating a mixture of raw honey and ground cinnamon.

Who knew?!

According to this, both cinnamon and honey are anti-bacterial, anti-viral, and anti-fungal. Since colds are viruses, this concoction sounded perfect to me. I would have opted for a few swigs of good ol’ Kentucky bourbon, but I do have that all-important conversation later and I definitely can’t have whiskey on my breath.

I’ve always known honey to be the miracle drug on the planet and I too easily forget this until I’m desperate and looking for relief. My great-grandmother used to eat one tablespoon of honey every morning before her first cup of coffee. She lived to be ancient and I swear she was never sick. I’m adding honey to my daily regimen. What I need though, is to find a local beekeeper that sells raw honey. I know I could get honey from Kentucky (a family member is a beekeeper) but it’s better to eat honey from your local area. It has something to do with the pollen in your environment and where you live. Don’t ask me, I’m no honey expert.

I just finished my bowl of honey and cinnamon. Perhaps the little bits of waxy honeycomb will speed my recovery. Let’s hope this works because I need to start getting ready.

Have a great Monday, y’all!!!!

Comments

  1. I recently got that lovely tickle in the back of my throat saying that I’m getting sick. This happened Mon afternoon. Started the honey and cinnamon, twice a day, along with echinacea, and it’s Wed night as I type, and I already feel as though I’m at the last stage of my cold; you know, the painful coughing and congestion, achy muscles, and general malaise, but I am so surprised how fast it went! My sore throat only lasted for 24 hours and din’t get real bad, my runny nose lasted for about 14 hours, and I’m already coughing stuff up and it’s only been two and a half days!!!! Fastest I’ve ever had a cold progress! Wish I’d known about this remedy sooner, could probably have avoided calling off work as much as I did!

    • Rachel, I’m so glad you had success with the honey and cinnamon. I honestly believe honey is one of those “super foods” that we should have as often as possible. My great-grandmother used to keep a jar of honey on her dining table and every night she’d eat a spoonful. The woman was hardly sick a day in her life and lived to be 96. I hope you are feeling better real soon! =)

  2. i have a cold too.
    i tried this, but i’m not sure it will help me since my nose is already stuffy

  3. Trying the remedy beginning tonight. I’ll keep you posted. I’ll also try a little of my Moscato a bit later. That’s natural too right?

    • Krissa, darling, you enjoy the honey and cinnamon mixture *AND* your Moscato!!!! I hope you feel better soon, although I’ve been told to eat a spoonful of honey every day to stay healthier. Wise wisdom I should adhere to. Big hugs!

  4. So, my dad – also local – puts a teaspoon of honey in his coffee daily. Sorry it’s taken me so long to read this, you know the whole, “I finally had a day off and did my Christmas shopping” thing. You can get local honey at any of the health food stores. As long as you are within 30-45 miles of where you live (so basically the metroplex) the honey will help you out. Dad gets his at the health food store in Westcliff shopping center (I think that’s what it is called) next to King’s liquor. See, that’s how I know it. That’s where I do all my major liquor shopping. Hahaha. No, seriously. That’s where I do all my major liquor shopping. At any rate, I’m sure you could get honey in Cleburne or Burleson – is there a health food store in Burleson (there is in Cleburne)??? Sheesh…I’m from Ft. Worth!

    • Celeste, I love you. Not just because you’re awesome, but because you’re awesome. At any rate (my great-grandmother used to say that allllllll the time, I declare!), the last time I visited the Feed Store with the Hubs I noticed they had bottles of local honey for sale. I even said out loud, “oh look, they have local honey.” I’m quite genius like that. I’ll check the label to ensure it is “local” but I’m sure Tiger Farms Market (corner of 731 and 174 in Burleson) would have some too.

      Thanks for reminding me about major liquor shopping. I realized tonight my “stash” of Cupcake Moscato is terribly low ….. meaning the last bottle is in the fridge and that’s a dreadful shame.

      Merry Christmas!
      xoxo,
      Nicole

  5. Good luck on your thing where you have to speak coherently, and on the remedy. I’ll have to check that out myself!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

