Casey Dona-who?

For weeks ….. no, make that months ….. I’ve been listening to young ladies (teens) at church SWOON over some country singer named Casey Donahew.

Who?

Casey Donahew.

I don’t know who this guy is, so I Google’d him.

Casey is a Burleson, Texas native. Married his high school sweetheart. Went to the University of Texas in Arlington and began his music career by teaching himself to play guitar and write songs. In a nutshell, he’s a trailblazer on the Lonestar music trail in the mix with Pat Green, Canadian Ragweed, as well as the legendary Garth Brooks and George Strait.

With role models like that, I’m liking this Casey guy more and more.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never heard of Casey Donahew. I’ve never heard (that I know of) a single track of his. And, if he were to walk up to me right now, I wouldn’t know him.

But there are many that do …… and I admire their adoration and remember.

I was one of them.

I’m a child of the 80s. I lived – wholeheartedly – in the 90s. I was infatuated with New Kids On The Block, sang every word to Achy Breaky Heart, and believed Celine Dion was the best thing to come from Canada. My cassette tape player (you remember those, don’t you?) was blasting Whitney Houston, Bon Jovi, Reba McEntire, Michael Bolton, Shania Twain, Michael Jackson, Bryan Adams, Garth Brooks, George Strait, and John Cougar (or is it John Mellencamp?).

Those were the days, weren’t they?

But my hat’s off to the staff and students responsible for bringing the Casey Donahew Band to Joshua High School today for a private concert. That’s cool.

Y’all enjoy your Monday evening.

I have the sudden urge to put a compact-disc into my boom box, watch Fresh Prince of Bel-Air re-runs, and play Oregon Trail on the computer, installed with Windows 95 of course.

SIKE!!!!!

 

Comments

  1. looks like a great group to listen to.. when you were naming off the list of groups you grew up with, i had to remember back, my two daughters grew up blasting them on the radio, tape players.. I actually remember those people..

    • I remember “clipping” my cassette Walkman to the band of my shorts wearing a New Kids On The Block t-shirt to Vacation Bible School one night …. there’s picture evidence of my insane cool-ness. Oh, and my ponytail was teased and proudly situated on the SIDE of my head. Oh yeah. I was cool. BAHAHA!!!

I appreciate all comments and read every single one. (To avoid the spam garbage, I approve them.) Go ahead, share your thoughts - it makes me smile when you do that!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

